Staying safe at Starbucks at other public WiFi

Discussion in 'privacy problems' started by BigRyan69, Oct 7, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. BigRyan69

BigRyan69 Registered Member

I'm new to taking security measures to ensure the safety of my data and my work on my computer. I'm a student in college and I study a lot at Starbucks and in school libraries where there is public wifi. Just from reading some of the posts I know i should be doing more in terms of security but I"m not sure what to do and where to start.

How do i stay safe from using bittorrent or uTorrent over a public wifi? Believe it or not I'm not torrenting music or movies but mostly PDF's of books and documents that I need for research and references that are either 1) extremely hard to find and out of print 2) unavailable for purchase from Amazon.

I'm using a Macbook Pro. What steps do I need to take and what programs do I need to install for OS X?
    I read that MADMAC is a good program but that's for Windows based computers. Also should I be using Tor? I have a mac computer.

2. zapjb

zapjb Registered Member

USA - Back in a real State in time for a real Pres
    http://hackerreturns.blogspot.com/2013/05/spoof-mac-address-in-any-os.html

How to Change MAC Address in Mac OS X
    Since Mac OS X 10.4.x (Darwin 8.x) onwards, the MAC address of wired Ethernet interface can be altered in Apple Mac OS X in a fashion similar to the Linux and FreeBSD methods. To do so, type the following command in Terminal.app:
    sudo ifconfig en0 ether aa:bb:cc:dd:ee:ff
    or
    sudo ifconfig en0 lladdr aa:bb:cc:dd:ee:ff (for Mac OS X 10.5 Leopard)
    where en0 is the network interface (numbered from en0, en1, en2 …) and aa:bb:cc:dd:ee:ff is the desired MAC address in hex notation.
    Alternative: MacDaddy (download MacDaddyX.dmg, support Airport wireless adapter)

via Digitalife

Read more: http://hackerreturns.blogspot.com/2013/05/spoof-mac-address-in-any-os.html#ixzz2h5DAf1dv