Statwin

Discussion in 'Other Acronis Products' started by dfw, May 4, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. dfw

    dfw Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2006
    Posts:
    42
    Hi all this is my 1st post, but have been reading your posts for the last few months.
    Since the lastest updates with PE9 has anyone else had the StatWin keylogger infection detected by PE9, ive ran scans with defender, adaware and spybot, and nod32, all come back clean, I had a few false positives with PE8 and 9 over the last few months, so I just like to check with other users first, before I let it delete the reg entries, as a key logger would StatWin have to be manually installedo_O
     
  2. mrhero

    mrhero Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2005
    Posts:
    297
    Location:
    Ankara , Turkey
    I think another FP of Privacy Expert. Last week i reported a few FP's but no one of them fixed yet.
     
  3. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
  4. coldfusion

    coldfusion Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2006
    Posts:
    1
    HI

    I wanted to know, have your problem solved about the STATWIN keylogger or it was a false positive error in Acronis 8!!? because I've the same problem

    thanx
     
  5. dfw

    dfw Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2006
    Posts:
    42
    Acronis Support

    Thank you for responding but as this is not the 1st FP I have had with PE ,I have removed PE9, I only had about 6 months updates left, it's not a knock to your software as I use TI9 which I think is great, it just I cant put up with the FP's

    A rebate would be goodo_O??
     
  6. Diverjerry

    Diverjerry Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Posts:
    13
    I to have about had it with PE9, the other Acronis products have been solid. On this product all you get is a message to sumbit a report and you might hear something in 6 weeks.

    I also have PE finding statwin, while three others find nothing. Before I delete it I am going to run a webroot scan. I have had so many FP in this product I am gun shy, I need to be able to trust the software.
     
  7. dfw

    dfw Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2006
    Posts:
    42
    I am going to use, defender, spyware blaster/guard, spybot, and adaware, also nod 32 detects some spyware, it's a crying shame as PE9 has good built in tools,:(

    Beyond Keylogger, Insanor, Turkjan and now Statwin are the ones which affected me.
     
    Last edited: May 7, 2006
  8. Diverjerry

    Diverjerry Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Posts:
    13
    Well the webroot scan didn't find anything as well as ad-adware SE, sbybot and windows defender (beta 2). I like some of the other functions of PE, but FP drive me nuts. A person needs to be able to trust what it finds and not worry if it's an error.
     
  9. dfw

    dfw Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2006
    Posts:
    42

    That's the trouble, one day is not going to be a FP and your going to be caught outo_O
     
  10. Diverjerry

    Diverjerry Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Posts:
    13
    I know it, that is why I think I will just use the other free ones and may spend $19.00 on webroot software. I use Acronis disk director and backup. Both them work fine.
     
  11. dfw

    dfw Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2006
    Posts:
    42
    same here with true Image, and I am thinking of getting Disk Director.
     
  12. dfw

    dfw Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2006
    Posts:
    42

    Attached Files:

    • mm.jpg
      mm.jpg
      File size:
      116.1 KB
      Views:
      78
  13. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello all,

    I'm sorry for not being accurate enough in my explanation. I have just consulted with our Development Team and they have assured me that this StatWin software is not a malware and it was mistakenly included into our database. This issue will be fixed in the nearest Spyware Definitions Update.

    We are really sorry for the current inconvenience.

    Thank you.
    --
    Kirill Omelchenko
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.