Startup scan prevents notification area app. icons from loading

Discussion in 'ESET NOD32 Antivirus' started by JeremyW, Sep 15, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. JeremyW

    JeremyW Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2007
    Posts:
    86
    Location:
    Swindon, Wiltshire, UK
    I posted this problem while beta testing V5, and it's still a problem after performing a clean install of the release yesterday. Two applications persistently fail to load their notification area icons (Win 7 Pro 64 Bit):

    One is 'Powerchute' (UPS Control Panel), and the other is CoreTemp (CPU Temp / RAM usage application). The apps themselves themselves are running but no icon. Only happens on first start-up (which is when the NOD32 start-up scan is scheduled) - on subsequent reboots or start-ups during the day, they load.
     
  2. dmaasland

    dmaasland Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2010
    Posts:
    468
    Through RDP by any chance?
     
  3. JeremyW

    JeremyW Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2007
    Posts:
    86
    Location:
    Swindon, Wiltshire, UK
    Sorry...don't understand the question!
     
  4. dmaasland

    dmaasland Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2010
    Posts:
    468
    Then it's probably not through remote desktop, was just wondering :)
     
  5. JeremyW

    JeremyW Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2007
    Posts:
    86
    Location:
    Swindon, Wiltshire, UK
    No, not at all. Just my start-ups on a standalone Win 7 machine.
     
  6. toxinon12345

    toxinon12345 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Posts:
    1,200
    Location:
    Managua, Nicaragua
    Your computer should start very late then. :)
    Disabling the scheduled startup scans does make a difference?
     
  7. JeremyW

    JeremyW Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2007
    Posts:
    86
    Location:
    Swindon, Wiltshire, UK
    Going to test again and report back.
     
  8. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    Please try excluding those applications from scanning and let us know if it helps.
     
  9. JeremyW

    JeremyW Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2007
    Posts:
    86
    Location:
    Swindon, Wiltshire, UK
    Under the general 'Exclusions' setting, yes?
     
  10. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    Exactly.
     
  11. JeremyW

    JeremyW Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2007
    Posts:
    86
    Location:
    Swindon, Wiltshire, UK
    No. This didn't help. The same notification icons failed to load this morning. I have disabled the start-up scan completely to test again.
     
  12. JeremyW

    JeremyW Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2007
    Posts:
    86
    Location:
    Swindon, Wiltshire, UK
    This didn't work either, so I suspect HIPS. Disabling HIPS and trying again.
     
  13. JeremyW

    JeremyW Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2007
    Posts:
    86
    Location:
    Swindon, Wiltshire, UK
    It's HIPS. HIPS disabled yesterday. Just started the machine up - everything loaded as it should. I have to leave HIPS disabled then, unless someone from Eset can give me a solution - I tried creating rules when testing the RC but that didn't seem to work.
     
  14. JeremyW

    JeremyW Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2007
    Posts:
    86
    Location:
    Swindon, Wiltshire, UK
    I'm now running HIPS in learning mode and all apps are loading. Is this the solution - to let learning mode run for a couple of weeks and effectively create it's own rules before switching back to automatic? Marcos..?
     
  15. JeremyW

    JeremyW Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2007
    Posts:
    86
    Location:
    Swindon, Wiltshire, UK
    Still have a random problem with some app. icons not loading. I'm afraid v5 is not for me and I see no advantages in using it (for me anyway). Back to v4. I have to say that I agree with those who believe v5 should have stayed in Beta for longer.
     
  16. JeremyW

    JeremyW Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2007
    Posts:
    86
    Location:
    Swindon, Wiltshire, UK
    ATTN: MARCOS / ESET

    Hi,

    I've installed 5.0.94.0 fresh. Trying a different approach to the start-up problem:

    Marcos, some time back you asked me to put the offending apps. into exclusions, which didn't work. I've now installed without PUP detection (I normally use it) and I've had no start-up problems so far (2 days). A couple of my start-up apps. have question marks against them in 'Running Processes' and I'm wondering if NOD32 is seeing these apps. as PUPs / tied in with HIPS..? I'm reaching for straws here but for sure, so far, turning off PUP detection has had an effect. What do you think? HIPS is on automatic...
     
  17. JeremyW

    JeremyW Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2007
    Posts:
    86
    Location:
    Swindon, Wiltshire, UK
    Re: ATTN: MARCOS / ESET

    This problem has gone for me - I now have PUPs excluded from the start-up scan only. Comments..?
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.