Startup Recovery Manager

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by kostas3, Jan 30, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. kostas3

kostas3 Registered Member

Hi There

I am new to ATI Home 10. I have just installed it on my desk top machine.
    Created a backup location on an external hard drive
    Created a backup image of my C\ drive
    Validated it
    Created a Media Builder Boot up disc to allow me to start the comp if winXPPro does not work

My next task is to set up diff/sequ backup (when I sort out the difference )of my C\ drive and then data files

I was thinking about Activating Acronis Startup Manager. It would appear that this requires the Acronis secure zone to be created?

I think it says that backups will then be located in this security zone?
    But I want to keep my backups on the independent external drive

Question:-
    1. Am I correct in this assumption. Backups will go in secure zone?
    2. Is it worth having the Acronis Startup Manager when I have a startup CD disc?
    3. Are there any threads you would particularly recommend I should look at.

Many thanks from a puzzled newbie

2. mfabien

mfabien Registered Member

Secure Zone must first be created. You can locate your full backup image in the SZ.

Advantage: If your OS fails to start, you can press F11 to restore.

Disadvantage: If your HDD breaks up, you have nothing.

3. kostas3

Thank you, but as I mentioned I want to keep my backups on an external drive

If secure zone is created, does this mean future backups go into this secure zone on internall HDD instead of external hard drive?

Are you suggesting it would be better to just stick with Cd Bootup disc and backup on external drive?

4. tuttle

tuttle Guest

Yes! The Secure Zone is a sub-optimal solution for situations where there is no external drive and no ability to backup to burned disks (CD, DVD).