Startup recovery manager (F11) resolution problem

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by heavyhms, Mar 7, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. heavyhms

    heavyhms Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2009
    Posts:
    7
    On eeepc (wide screen resolution 1024x600) the screen of True Image Home 2009 launched from recovery manager (pressing F11) is totally corrupted (the left half of image is on the right side of screen and the right half on left side).
    I have tryed to modify the configuration file in this way (now the screen is centered, but with corrupted colors):


    [start]
    echo Starting Acronis True Image...
    initrd ramdisk.dat /s
    kernel kernel.dat quiet
    quiet on
    mbrcrcs on
    vga 0x314 <-------- with the standard value (vga vesa) i have screen not centered

    [continue]
    sysboot /active

    [bootmgr]
    echo Premere F11 per Acronis Startup Recovery Manager...
    default continue
    delay 8
    bootmenu 389

    Is possible to have a correct configuration?
     
    Last edited: Mar 7, 2009
  2. heavyhms

    heavyhms Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2009
    Posts:
    7
    a little update: restoring "vga vesa" i have a usable (but 1024x768 screen instead 1024x600) screen: no errors on color palette. But ONLY if i press ONCE F11 to boot; if i pres F11 twice or more the screen is also shifted to the right side (and the right side of true image windows "exit" from the lef side of screen).

    Very strange, i know o_O (true image 2009 home build 9633 italian)
     
  3. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    Have you tried 0x313 or 0x315?

    I don't see why pressing F11 multiple times would change the video. Did this also happen when you used a value (0x314, for example)?
     
  4. heavyhms

    heavyhms Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2009
    Posts:
    7
    With the 0x315 i have the same effect of 0x314 value: image correctly aligned, but with wrong palette (and low resolution). Restoring vga vesa and testing multiple time i have noticed different and totally random horizontal alignement of image: sometime it's centered (but the bottom of the screen is out of monitor, because the display phisical resolution is 1024x600, not 1024x768 ), but many times is shifted.

    Sorry for my previous post: there are no relation with number of F11 pressions; this issue is totally random
     
  5. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello all,

    Thank you for using Acronis True Image

    heavyhms, you are unable to modify the resolution for Acronis Startup Recovery Manager. Paul, Acronis Startup Recovery Manager and standard Acronis Booting Rescue Media are based on the same kernel, we discussed the subject about the CD.

    Thank you.

    --
    Oleg Lee
     
  6. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    heavyhms,

    I was able to get the resolution and color depth to change in the ASRM (despite what Oleg says). You were on the right track, but the vga parameter used in the f11.cfg file won't correctly accept the hexadecimal value (0x315). Using the decimal values worked. Whenever it gets a value it doesn't like, it reverts to 640x480x4bit (16 colors).

    800x600x24bit = 789
    800x600x16bit = 788

    1024x768x24bit = 792
    1024x768x16bit = 791

    There are some more vga codes listed here. Different codes may work depending on the video controller/hardware. I think it's worth a shot to give it another try.

    Here is an example showing part of the f11.cfg file:
    Code:
    [start]
    echo Starting Acronis True Image...
    initrd ramdisk.dat /s
    kernel kernel.dat quiet
    quiet on
    mbrcrcs on
    [B][COLOR="Red"]vga 789[/COLOR][/B]
    
    [continue]
    sysboot /active
    If you get it to work, please post back and let us know.
     
    Last edited: Mar 13, 2009
  7. heavyhms

    heavyhms Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2009
    Posts:
    7
    i have tryed 876 878 791 826 with no results (low resolution 16 colors screen , but perfectly centered). Any idea for a intel gma 945 express video on a 1024x600 display? There are also a method to test other value without deactivate and reactivate (for each modify) f11.cfg?
     
  8. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    When I tried values that weren't supported, I got 16 colors too.

    I'd start with the lower resolutions/depths and work up from there. Since this is more specialized, it may be less receptive to standard modes.

    There are several ways. One way is to edit the partition table and make the SZ into a standard FAT32 partition. This way, you can edit the F11.cfg file directly and no reactivation is necessary.

    Another way (and probably easier), is to create a bootable flashdrive with TI on it. When setup correctly, you can change the vga value and then boot it. This method doesn't bother the SZ and allows very quick changes between boots. You can even setup several entries to test so you can reboot and test them without needing to change the file. Once you find a value that works (hopefully, you will), you can try in the the SZ's F11.cfg file. (You can use the Windows Calculator program to convert decimal and hexadecimal values, if needed.)

    When I do this type of testing, I usually boot on one computer and edit the file on another. That way, Windows is up and it's faster. You can find details in this post, though you may want to read the entire thread. Note that it's easy to just edit the vga value right at the Grub4DOS command line too (this means you can try different values by just rebooting and making the change -- no file editing necessary).
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.