Start-Up Scan; How to cancel

Discussion in 'ESET Smart Security' started by tjg79, Feb 24, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. tjg79

    tjg79 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Posts:
    55
    Location:
    Virginia, USA
    I'm running ESET SS6 on a Win XP Pentium III notebook pc with 500MB memory. This is an old computer and the system resources are taxed to the limit. The ESET SS6 start-up scan will start and cause the system to behave very slow. Occasionally, I want to stop the scan so I can do something else at the moment, but I don't see where I can cancel a scan that has started. Is there a way to cancel a start-up scan? Thanks for your assistance.

    Regards
     
  2. pavilion_alex

    pavilion_alex Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2009
    Posts:
    40
    go to Tools > Scheduler, and disable the "automatic Startup file check" entries.
     
  3. siljaline

    siljaline Former Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2003
    Posts:
    6,619
    Not recommended:
    See: How do I temporarily disable the startup scan
     
  4. siljaline

    siljaline Former Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2003
    Posts:
    6,619
    Change your start-up scan to a lower priority so that the scan is run when idle. This is not a default setting but is the lowest setting recommended without disabling the start-up scan.
     
  5. tjg79

    tjg79 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Posts:
    55
    Location:
    Virginia, USA
    Thank you for the responses.

    What I'm looking for is a way to stop or halt a start-up scan once it has started. I don't want to disable the feature. I just want to be able to stop it if it is causes some other momentary issue. I don't see a way to stop a start-up scan like you can stop the other type scans.

    If this feature is not available, it would be helpful if Eset would add it to future releases.

    Regards
     
  6. SweX

    SweX Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2007
    Posts:
    6,429
    You can't stop it once it have started. But normally a startup scan should only take between 5-10 Seconds, so just wait until it's done that's what I do. :)
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.