Starforce: Should AVs Detect it as Malware?

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by phasechange, Sep 12, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. phasechange

    phasechange Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2004
    Posts:
    359
    Location:
    Edinburgh
    As someone who was quite nastily stung by Starforce (or his own ignorance of Starforce) and had major instability issues as a consequence of installing this with Codename Panzers: Phase 1 and buying a second title with it by ignorance ,Splinter Cell Chaos Theory, I am disappointed that my AV software doesn't at least warn me.

    Should copy protection programs that hijack aspects of a PC like Starforce or compromise security like the Sony Root Kit be detected as Malware and at least warned against?

    Is it legal to do so in the US with the DMCA? (I live in the EU but am interested)

    Are we being poorly served by AV companies avoiding an awkward issue?

    Fairy
     
  2. Inspector Clouseau

    Inspector Clouseau AV Expert

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2006
    Posts:
    1,329
    Location:
    Maidenhead, UK
    Should we also detect World of Warcraft?
     
  3. FastGame

    FastGame Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2005
    Posts:
    677
    Location:
    Blasters worm farm
    World of Warcraft doesn't have Starforce ;) :D
     
  4. Inspector Clouseau

    Inspector Clouseau AV Expert

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2006
    Posts:
    1,329
    Location:
    Maidenhead, UK
    No, but it enumerates active dialogs and transfers information of them to prevent cheaters from running automated programs :rolleyes:
     
  5. Joliet Jake

    Joliet Jake Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2005
    Posts:
    911
    Location:
    Scotland
    The ideal would be to have two PC's, one for gameing that has nothing that could be compromised and another for your work/browsing and other stuff.
     
  6. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    17,059
    I wouldn't expect an AV to detect a copy protection situation, but for sure a HIPS like OA,Appdefend, or SSM would warn you something else was trying to run. Then it's your choice. Some AV's like KAV 6.0 also have a Proactive Defense module that would warn you something is going on.

    Pete
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.