SSM default permissions

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by Rainwalker, Dec 13, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Rainwalker

    Rainwalker Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2003
    Posts:
    2,106
    Location:
    USA
    Why does SSM allow system safety monitor\syssafe.exe remote code control and remote data modification ?
    This is seen in the rules and is seemingly a default..... o_O
     
    Last edited: Dec 14, 2006
  2. Rainwalker

    Rainwalker Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2003
    Posts:
    2,106
    Location:
    USA
    Any thoughts ?
     
  3. Stem

    Stem Firewall Expert

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2005
    Posts:
    4,948
    Location:
    UK
    This is becoming more common in security applications, as they need to be able to take control of any/all running processes.

    This is a default setting, as if this ability was removed, then SSM would not be able to control correctly (when needed), and would make your system less well protected.
     
  4. Rainwalker

    Rainwalker Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2003
    Posts:
    2,106
    Location:
    USA
    Thanks for responding Stem, but why remote code control and remote data modification ? To me this implies control is enabled in computers other then me own...
     
  5. Stem

    Stem Firewall Expert

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2005
    Posts:
    4,948
    Location:
    UK
    It just means remote processes on the PC that SSM is installed on.
     
  6. Rainwalker

    Rainwalker Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2003
    Posts:
    2,106
    Location:
    USA
    I don't understand.........remote in terms of processes apart from SSM on my stand alone PC and not remote in terms of another computer ?
     
  7. Rainwalker

    Rainwalker Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2003
    Posts:
    2,106
    Location:
    USA
    Now come on you guys...well over 200 people have looked at this thread and only Stem has commented......i know more then Stem are using SSM....is anyone else seeing what i am seeing... or not ?
     
  8. herbalist

    herbalist Guest

    It's referring to processes on your PC, not another computer. From the SSM help file:
    Rick
     
  9. Stem

    Stem Firewall Expert

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2005
    Posts:
    4,948
    Location:
    UK
    Hi Rainwalker, very sorry if I did not make this clear.
    Yes, SSM will only control the processes on the PC it is installed on.
     
  10. Rainwalker

    Rainwalker Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2003
    Posts:
    2,106
    Location:
    USA
    Ok Stem and Herbalist...thank you..
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.