SSD errors while attempting to image.

Discussion in 'hardware' started by xxJackxx, Jul 3, 2019.

  1. xxJackxx

    xxJackxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Posts:
    5,411
    Location:
    USA
    I have an employee's PC that had a recent SSD upgrade (within the last few months.) It has worked fine until the last couple of weeks. We are using Macrium Reflect 7.2. It is giving an error 23. This suggests that there are bad blocks on the disk and to run chkdsk /r. Doing so results in no errors found. SanDisk SSD Dashboard also says there are no issues as does CrystalDiskInfo. Despite all of this we can't image the disk anymore. I'm posting here instead of the backup section as the replies there will just say the disk is bad. Maybe it is but I would expect at least some other disk tool to verify there is an error of any kind. The PC is running fine with no lag or errors of any kind. Any suggestions on how to fix a disk that everything says is not broken?
     
  2. Floyd 57

    Floyd 57 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2017
    Posts:
    548
    Location:
    Europe
    If the disk is truly fine (I don't know if it is) then "You can set an option to ignore bad sectors that may allow the image job to complete, but that should be considered a last resort because that means Reflect won't be able to guarantee that all data was captured correctly." - https://forum.macrium.com/Topic23884.aspx

    Maybe try reinstalling macrium, and try ssd on another pc to see if it still happens? Or on a clean install

    Also this seems worth a read https://blog.macrium.com/techie-tuesday-imaging-disks-with-bad-sectors-69f42253f10d , apparently you can try to run chkdsk /r repeatedly until error 23 no longer occurs and other stuff
     
  3. xxJackxx

    xxJackxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Posts:
    5,411
    Location:
    USA
    Thanks for the reply. I am aware of the "last resort" option but was saving it for a last resort. :D
    I'll likely consider reinstalling Macrium as a next step.
    I did Google for some options but not much useful was returned. Thanks again.
     
  4. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    10,570
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    xxJackxx,

    Does Macrium give an error when run from a boot disk? Do other imaging apps (from a boot disk) give errors?

    Is encryption in use?
     
    Last edited: Jul 3, 2019
  5. xxJackxx

    xxJackxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Posts:
    5,411
    Location:
    USA
    No encryption. We installed Acronis and attempted a backup. It gave a more useful error.
    Failed to read from sector '232,656,016' of hard disk '1'.
    Failed to read the snapshot. (0x10C45A)
    CRC error (0x100155)
    Horribly annoying that all of the drive utilities say the disk is 100% fine and chkdsk does absolutely nothing. I am going to assume there is nothing we can do to fix it and we will have to replace the drive. I thought these things were supposed to reallocate bad blocks. Minus points for SSD drives and I probably won't replace it with another SanDisk.
     
  6. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    10,570
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    On the off chance it is a VSS error rather than a bad SSD, I'd try imaging from a boot disk.
     
  7. Floyd 57

    Floyd 57 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2017
    Posts:
    548
    Location:
    Europe
  8. xxJackxx

    xxJackxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Posts:
    5,411
    Location:
    USA
    Thanks for your suggestions and too al that replied. We just decided to replace the disk with a new Samsung drive. This PC is critical to the business so we decided it wasn't worth the risk to drag this out. The new disk is working fine. Now to RMA the SanDisk. Whatever happened to the days when I could RMA a drive by entering a serial number? They are requiring a bunch of info, an attached copy of proof of purchase, and pics of the drive, front and back.
     
  9. xxJackxx

    xxJackxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Posts:
    5,411
    Location:
    USA
    The second one of these we bought is now failing. I'll be switching brands. I wouldn't have know if it weren't for Macrium failing. This one also actually fails the S.M.A.R.T. test. The SanDisk SSD Dashboard still shows it green with 94% life left. Has anyone else had these issues? I'm hoping I can run it until I get a replacement but that is going to take longer than I want.
     
  10. kaljukass

    kaljukass Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2011
    Posts:
    148
    People, is it really so difficult to understand that you cannot use the tools and methods of HDD with SSD.
    These two are completely different things. You simply break your SSD completely. As long as You don't want to understand that these two are absolutely different, don't use SSD. There is nothing to do with HDD tools and methods. Nearly ten years have SSD's been in use and still You don't know what they are. SSD is electronics, only cristals, but HDD is fully mechanics.
    One can be repaired with a wrench, the other only with the mind. There's nothing to do with wrenches and a hammer.
     
  11. roger_m

    roger_m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Posts:
    7,459
    You can. Although obviously SSDs and hard drives work differently, it makes absolutely no difference to backup software, which you are using.
     
  12. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    10,570
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    kaljukass,

    Can you indicate which tools do this to a SSD and not to a HD?
     
  13. xxJackxx

    xxJackxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Posts:
    5,411
    Location:
    USA
    I'm not sure I get the point you are trying to make. Over the last half dozen years I have run multiple SSDs in multiple devices and short of the 2 Mushkin drives (I understand they are not actual "disk drives") that died right after the warranty expired, I have had no issues with any of them. Except these 2 SanDisk SSD Plus drives. I am in a state of not being able to image this device and likely expect it to fail sooner than later. If anyone has any helpful experience with a similar situation that would be great. If not I am working on trying to get the invoice from the boss to send it back. As I have not had any issues with any Crucial, Intel, or Samsung SSDs, one of them will be getting my business moving forward.
     
  14. noway

    noway Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2005
    Posts:
    423
    So there are 2 SanDisk SSD in this PC, disk 0 and disk 1?
     
  15. xxJackxx

    xxJackxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Posts:
    5,411
    Location:
    USA
    No, they were in 2 different PCs.
     
  16. noway

    noway Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2005
    Posts:
    423
    Sorry I'm just a bit confused about the config. Thought it was a bit unusual that Acronis showed an error in Disk1 if that is the SSD. If the SSD is the boot drive wondered why Acronis wouldn't call it Disk0, that's all.
     
  17. Dragon1952

    Dragon1952 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2012
    Posts:
    1,889
    Location:
    Hollow Earth - Telos
    I just ran chkdsk c: /r and was told to restart. I restarted and chkdsk did not run at all during restart.
     
  18. xxJackxx

    xxJackxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Posts:
    5,411
    Location:
    USA
    That is a good point but it is the boot disk.
     
Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.