SSD Drives and imaging

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by Dennis L, Feb 18, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Dennis L

    Dennis L Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2006
    Posts:
    46
    Location:
    Central Wisconsin - USA
    Am considering getting a SSD drive(s) for my computer(s). Is their any problem creating / restoring a image to a SSD (system) drive? All 4x of my computers run XP Home / 32bit. Will skip Vista and move to Windows 7 when it becomes available / stable.

    Thanks
    Dennis L
     
  2. hgratt

    hgratt Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2004
    Posts:
    113
    I already asked this a few weeks ago. Acronis indicated that, at the current, time, they do not support SSD drives. I am currently evaluating another product, which so far, appears to have successfully imaged my SSD (Dell E6500, win xp pro) drive to an external eSATA Seagate drive. I was able to verily and mount the image. I have not yet attempted a restore - need to save away stuff I need first.

    Harvey
     
  3. Dennis L

    Dennis L Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2006
    Posts:
    46
    Location:
    Central Wisconsin - USA
    Thanks for the reply Harvey.
    Have been using Acronis for a about 4 years, has always worked. Would like to upgrade to 2009, but until they can support SSD, will hold off. Did find a few Google views / users stating Snapshot Disk Imaging worked, but the site/author is not including any SSD reference.
     
  4. hgratt

    hgratt Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2004
    Posts:
    113

    I would also add that on my other laptop (Dell M4300, win xp pro), I use ATI 10 with the BartPE cd and it's been very reliable for both imaging and restoring. But, the laptop has a conventional HDD and I image to a external USB drive. FWIW, I'm currently evaluating ShadowProtect.
     
  5. bodgy

    bodgy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2005
    Posts:
    2,387
    Location:
    Qld.
    I wonder if disk imaging programs, will 'bugger' up the disk levelling mechanism on SSD's.

    Colin
     
  6. shieber

    shieber Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2004
    Posts:
    3,710
    I am curious, SSDs are relatively slow and expensive, what's the plus at this time?
     
  7. K0LO

    K0LO Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2006
    Posts:
    2,591
    Location:
    State College, Pennsylvania
    I have an online friend on another forum who is using ATI Home 2009 to image the SSD in his Dell XT tablet PC and it works fine. The SSD is connected to a standard SATA interface in the PC, so I can't imagine why ATI would not work. As long as the device has a standard SATA or IDE interface and conforms to the standards of the interface, how could ATI know or care what kind of disk is connected? In fact ATI does work very well with his SSD. He is switching frequently between Vista and Win7 on his SSD by restoring one or the other image.

    The statement from Acronis support is probably a statement of policy; not a statement that they have tested the product with SSDs and have found known problems. Kind of like the official policy that they don't support Windows 7, but several of us are using ATI with Win7 successfully.
     
  8. K0LO

    K0LO Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2006
    Posts:
    2,591
    Location:
    State College, Pennsylvania
    The good SSDs are not slow, but definitely are expensive. Some models have read/write speeds that are somewhat faster than current rotating platter HDDs; approaching 100 MB/s. The real advantage is that random access time is much faster - no rotational latency. But yes, they are expensive (currently).

    **Here is a good review of the Intel SSD line.
     
    Last edited: Feb 19, 2009
  9. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello all,

    Thank you for using Acronis True Image

    Mark, the full support of SSD cards can be implemented for the next version of corporate versions. We do not officially support SSD hard drives, and this means that if the program doesn't work on the current system with SSD hard drives, we can't enforce the program to do it. In other words, the proper functionality depends upon the luck.

    Thank you.

    --
    Oleg Lee
     
  10. shieber

    shieber Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2004
    Posts:
    3,710
    I hadn't been keeping up. I didn't know that any with respectable speeds had gone into general production. All the times I looked at them previously, they were much slower than most hdisks and much more expensive. Even MTBF wasn't especially good compared to good quality hdisks.

    I know that for some time now, the fastest SSDs are faster than the slowest hdisks but for less money you could get faster hdisks.

    If that situation is slowly changing, that's good to hear. Perhaps SSDs will eventualy become the "comers" some have hyped them to be for several years now.

     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.