SSD and mobo question

Discussion in 'hardware' started by Sherlock_Holmes, Sep 5, 2014.

  1. Sherlock_Holmes

    Sherlock_Holmes Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010
    Posts:
    1,448
    Location:
    Mumbai
  2. SpousalMilk

    SpousalMilk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2012
    Posts:
    40
    Location:
    USA
    Your motherboard supports SATA 3Gb/s, whereas the SSD supports SATA 6Gbp/s. It is compatible but the SSD will be bottle-necked (it will run at half its potential speed).
     
  3. Sherlock_Holmes

    Sherlock_Holmes Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010
    Posts:
    1,448
    Location:
    Mumbai
    Well thanx a lot . Will have to wait till I buy a new mobo then.
     
  4. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,644
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    Sherlock_Holmes,

    I disagree. Buy the SSD and use it now. You will barely notice the difference when running a SATA III SSD on a SATA II or SATA III MB. Benchmarking will be lower on a SATA II MB. Maybe 75% of what you see on a SATA III MB, but practically they feel much the same.
     
  5. Sherlock_Holmes

    Sherlock_Holmes Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010
    Posts:
    1,448
    Location:
    Mumbai
    So it will not run at half its potential ? And i have a SATA II or III mobo ?
     
  6. SirDrexl

    SirDrexl Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2012
    Posts:
    545
    Location:
    USA
    It isn't necessarily "half its potential." The main benefits of SSDs are the dramatically reduced latency and 4k random reads/writes. Those are what make them "feel" a lot faster than HDDs, and those will not improve with a higher SATA spec. Large file transfers will be slower, but the OS doesn't do many of those and the speed will still be much faster than a HDD.

    See this article for more information: http://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/sata-6gbps-performance-sata-3gbps,3110.html

    I would go ahead and get the SSD, and then get a new motherboard when you really need it for other things.
     
  7. Veeshush

    Veeshush Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2014
    Posts:
    643
    Don't worry about it. Any machine that will support an SSD will benefit from it compared to the regular old spinning disk drives. It'll be a worthwhile upgrade.
     
  8. Sherlock_Holmes

    Sherlock_Holmes Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010
    Posts:
    1,448
    Location:
    Mumbai
    That was a lot of technical talk but i understood most of it and I see i should buy the ssd now
    Thanx a lot brian and drexl
     
  9. Sherlock_Holmes

    Sherlock_Holmes Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010
    Posts:
    1,448
    Location:
    Mumbai
    What a huge difference ! But i have a few questions - What are the steps i need to take for its optimum performance ?
    Do i need to defrag ssd ?

    Please look at the screenshot - when i activate ahci mode in bios the ssd crashes just after winodws logo with 0x000007b error

    Do i need to do os optimization and rapid mode ?
     

    Attached Files:

  10. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,644
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    Sherlock_Holmes,

    Did you install an OS on the SSD or did you clone a HD to the SSD?

    Which OS is on the SSD?

    Can you post a screenshot of Disk Management?

    Do you have the "Press F6" AHCI drivers for the MB storage controller?

    Are the SSD partitions 1MiB aligned?
     
  11. Sherlock_Holmes

    Sherlock_Holmes Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010
    Posts:
    1,448
    Location:
    Mumbai
    I have installed 7 x64 , i did not clone

    press f6 ?? mb storage controller ?? 1mb aligned ?? sorry i am not familiar with any of these terms
     

    Attached Files:

  12. Sherlock_Holmes

    Sherlock_Holmes Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010
    Posts:
    1,448
    Location:
    Mumbai
    I dont know what i did new now , but ahci mode is now enabled

    now do i do the os optimisation and enable rapid mode ?
     
  13. Veeshush

    Veeshush Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2014
    Posts:
    643
    No, never defrag an SSD. It's entirely pointless because you're not using a spinning disk.

    There was another SDD newbie thread a while ago. Give that a look over: https://www.wilderssecurity.com/threads/ssd-newbee-questions.364387/#post-2375829
     
  14. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,644
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    Sherlock_Holmes,

    Most of my questions were about AHCI but you have sorted it out. Great.

    Somewhere in Magician you will find "Alignment". It needs to be 1MiB (2048 sector). How did you create the partitions on the SSD?
     
  15. Sherlock_Holmes

    Sherlock_Holmes Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010
    Posts:
    1,448
    Location:
    Mumbai
    Form veeshush's link , i used this software to find out if i have properly aligned or not , this is the result

    Brian k - i created the partitions while installing windows
     

    Attached Files:

  16. xxJackxx

    xxJackxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Posts:
    4,050
    Location:
    USA
    While correct, you likely would not notice a difference in most situations unless you have an array with more than 1 drive.
     
Loading...