SS-5 Will Not Activate - please help...

Discussion in 'ESET Smart Security' started by Kelster, Jan 8, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Kelster

    Kelster Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2012
    Posts:
    9
    Location:
    Canada
    Hello all,
    I downloaded and paid for a copy of ESET Smart Security 5. I received the email with License Information (for 3 computers), I copied & pasted the Username and Password into the Activation window under Set-up, but nothing happens. I received the Backup CD and it's of no help with activation.

    I submitted an on-line support request and received a confirmation email (Case #800406), where they said I would receive a response within 24 hours (that was 6 days ago). I have not heard from ESET.

    Thanks in advance for any support. o_O

    P.S.: I'm regretting my decision to drop Kaspersky.:mad:
     
  2. Cudni

    Cudni Global Moderator

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Posts:
    6,956
    Location:
    Somethingshire
    try typing instead of pasting the info
     
  3. Janus

    Janus Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2012
    Posts:
    588
    Location:
    Europe - Denmark .
    Hi
    Hey Kelster, just like you I have just bought Eset Smart security, and run into the same problem. The solution for me was not to copy and paste, but instead write the username and password manually.

    Regards

    Janus
     
  4. Kelster

    Kelster Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2012
    Posts:
    9
    Location:
    Canada
    What happens when the product is activated? Do you get a response or email from ESET?

    I ran the Install from CD on another computer and entered the Username & password 'manually' but I get the same error. The product will Not activate.

    Any suggestions?
     
  5. Cudni

    Cudni Global Moderator

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Posts:
    6,956
    Location:
    Somethingshire
  6. Kelster

    Kelster Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2012
    Posts:
    9
    Location:
    Canada
    Thanks Cudni,
    Yes. I believe I followed the instructions correctly. It's straightforward.

    I manually entered the Username and Password that is printed on the back-up CD that was sent to me by ESET, which is the same U&P that was sent to me from ESET in the Licenses email.

    I receive an 'undefined activation error' message, which is the same error that I get my other computer, where I installed the 'downloaded' version of SS-5.

    I entered another Support Request Form - Case #803782 - Activate/Register. Hopefully someone from ESET will respond this time.
     
    Last edited: Jan 8, 2012
  7. Janus

    Janus Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2012
    Posts:
    588
    Location:
    Europe - Denmark .
    Hi
    Sorry to hear that you still have problems regarding installation. Just some second thoughts:
    You mentioned that yours previously Av were kaspersky; but there could be remnants of the application in the system which might prevent installation . If that could be the case try to see this link: http://support.kaspersky.com/faq/?qid=208279463

    Regards

    Janus
     
  8. Kelster

    Kelster Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2012
    Posts:
    9
    Location:
    Canada
    Thanks Janus,
    I did use the Kaspersky removal tool before installing SS-5. It seems logical there might be an installation issue, but did not have any issues installing SS-5 and doesn't explain the 'undefined activation error' message that I get from ESET.
     
  9. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    Couldn't it be that you have the HP Protection tool installed?
     
  10. Kelster

    Kelster Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2012
    Posts:
    9
    Location:
    Canada
    Thanks Marcos,
    I have a HP laptop so it's possible this could be the cause of the issue on that machine, but I'm having the same error on two different computers, so I don't think it's the HP Tool.

    The problem appears to be with ESET and their lack of support.

    Regards,
    KB
     
  11. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    Try running the following command (with elevated admin rights on Windows Vista / Win7) before copying / pasting the username/password:
    net stop hpqwmiex

    Is the password ever saved or the password field is blank when you open the main setup (F5) and navigate to the update section?
     
    Last edited: Jan 9, 2012
  12. Kelster

    Kelster Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2012
    Posts:
    9
    Location:
    Canada
    I have typed the Username & Password manually, with the same error/result.
     
  13. Kelster

    Kelster Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2012
    Posts:
    9
    Location:
    Canada
    Sorry Marcos,
    I overlooked your second question - Yes. The username and password are saved in the Activate window fields, after entering for the first time. I have tried re-enetering the U&P manually but with the same error/result.
     
  14. Kelster

    Kelster Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2012
    Posts:
    9
    Location:
    Canada
    No Response from ESET Support

    So no one from ESET has responded to either of my on-line service support requests. Do they even have a support dept?

    - It's been 8 days since my first request - Case #800406
    - And 2 days since my second request - Case #803782

    What gives with these people? What's the use of having an on-line support form if you are not going to respond?

    Does anyone know how to reach these people? :mad:
     
  15. Kelster

    Kelster Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2012
    Posts:
    9
    Location:
    Canada
    bump bump
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.