Srwares Iron and Gmail

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by Shankle, Aug 14, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Shankle

    Shankle Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2006
    Posts:
    510
    I just downloaded the new Srware Iron browser V.21.0.1200.0.
    Now my Gmail is all messed up(not sure if related). The Inbox doesn't
    come in and the toolbar is now at the bottom of the page. When I
    go to the Srware.net web site a window comes up covering the
    entire screen. Some of the garbage on that window is as follows:
    "This webpage is not available. Srware Iron's attempt to use
    ad.yieldads.com was rejected".
    I don't know what that is and I don't want any part of it.
    I don't have Chrome on my computer. Running Windows 7 Pro.
    Sure hate the thought of having to go to another browser.
    Surely others are having the same problem.

    Just reverted to an earlier version of Iron and now my Gmail seems to be working.
    Only time will tell for sure. So do yourself a favor and don't download Srwares Iron V
    21.0.1200.0.
     
    Last edited: Aug 14, 2012
  2. jdd58

    jdd58 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Posts:
    525
    Location:
    Arizona
    Just downloaded the latest Iron and ran it under timefreeze. Gmail is working fine here as it is in Chrome and Dragon.
     
  3. Shankle

    Shankle Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2006
    Posts:
    510
    Thank you for responding JDD58.
    That would indicate that something else is going on in my puter.
    Running ESET SS and have no virus problems.
    Don't know what "timefreeze" is. Don't use Chrome or Dragon.

    Have you tried going on www.srware.net and seeing if you can
    view the latest version of Iron without a popup blocking the view?
     
  4. jdd58

    jdd58 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Posts:
    525
    Location:
    Arizona
    I did get a pop-up briefly when entering the forum but it was quickly dismissed. I see others are having that problem. -http://www.srware.net/forum/viewtopic.php?f=18&t=4284

    I did add fanboy's adblock.ini though.

    Time Freeze = -http://www.toolwiz.com/products/toolwiz-time-freeze/
     
  5. Shankle

    Shankle Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2006
    Posts:
    510
    HI JDD58
    I had to go back to V.20.0.1150.0.
    The latest version wants me to sign up with Chrome.
    The whole purpose of IRON is to get away from CHROME.
    Also it messes up my Gmail.
    Now my home page does not come up which I can also live with.
    Maybe in time all this will straighten out I hope.
    Everything is not perfect but livable.
     
  6. Pinga

    Pinga Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2006
    Posts:
    1,420
    Location:
    Europe
    There is nothing wrong with Iron - or with Chromium, for that matter - so please educate yourself before jumping to 'conclusions'. Tip: Logic helps.
     
  7. Shankle

    Shankle Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2006
    Posts:
    510
    Since Iron is still acting up on my puter what about a change
    to Dragon. Would I be able to import my settings and favorites?
     
  8. jdd58

    jdd58 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Posts:
    525
    Location:
    Arizona
    Yes you can import bookmarks and settings. Click on the Dragon icon in the upper left corner of the browser, scroll to bookmarks, then to Import bookmarks and settings.

    The same installer can be used to make a portable version also.
     
  9. JRViejo

    JRViejo Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    20,947
    Location:
    U.S.A.
  10. DBone

    DBone Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Posts:
    1,041
    Location:
    SoCal USA
    Srware 21.0.1200.0. working perfect here.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.