SRware Iron / Chrome question abt https ??

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by acr1965, Nov 28, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. acr1965

    acr1965 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2006
    Posts:
    4,954
    I use SRware Iron normally and any time I go to Youtube I am logged in with https. This is a pain because I am then constantly bombarded with ads that ad muncher cannot filter. When I go to Youtube using IE or FF I am not signed in using https. Is there some setting in STware Iron that causes me to be logged in with https evry time? I disabled all add ons and am still sign in with https.
     
  2. m00nbl00d

    m00nbl00d Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2009
    Posts:
    6,623
    My guess is that SRware folks do not remove the built-in HSTS list from Chromium's code. There's a predefined list of domain names that will default to HTTPS, and Youtube's domain is part of it.

    Open chrome://net-internals/#hsts and where it says Query domain enter youtube.com. If it finds it, you have your answer. :)
     
  3. acr1965

    acr1965 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2006
    Posts:
    4,954
    thanks for the info...I found this:
    Found: mode: OPPORTUNISTIC include_subdomains:true domain:youtube.com

    any way to change that to where I go to youtube that it's not https?
     
  4. m00nbl00d

    m00nbl00d Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2009
    Posts:
    6,623
    Unfortunately, there's no way to remove predefined entries. The only way would be to modify the source code.
     
  5. acr1965

    acr1965 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2006
    Posts:
    4,954
    ok thanks...guess it's good bye chrome.
     
  6. m00nbl00d

    m00nbl00d Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2009
    Posts:
    6,623
    Not necessarily. :) Do the following. Open your browser shortcut for Youtube (make sure you got a dedicated browser profile for it), and after the executable (chrome.exe or whatever it is), paste the following:

    Code:
    --host-rules="MAP * 127.0.0.1, EXCLUDE *.youtube.com","MAP * 127.0.0.1, EXCLUDE *.ytimg.com"
    This should take care of the ads. I don't see any ads here. :D Hopefully, SRware supports the --host-rules switch.
     
  7. acr1965

    acr1965 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2006
    Posts:
    4,954
    thanks for the info...could you be more detailed? I will try what you suggest but don't understand the step by step...
     
  8. m00nbl00d

    m00nbl00d Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2009
    Posts:
    6,623
    I'll try to clarify what I previously mentioned... :D

    1. I'd advise you to have two browser profiles: one for general browser (the one you probably have already) and another browser profile just to access Youtube.

    The easiest way (for me) to create a new profile is simply to create a new shortcut (right-click Desktop > New > Shortcut) and then click Browse and go the browser's executable path (example: C:\Program Files\Google Chrome\chrome.exe).

    Don't click Next...

    First, let's add the code below after "C:\Program Files\Google Chrome\chrome.exe" (in my example), which will make the new shortcut create the Youtube profile folder:

    Code:
    --user-data-dir="%USERPROFILE%\AppData\Local\Google Chrome\Youtube"
    It would then become like this:

    Code:
    [i]"C:\Program Files\Google Chrome\chrome.exe"[/i] --user-data-dir="%USERPROFILE%\AppData\Local\Google Chrome\Youtube"
    Don't click Next...

    Now, the following will let you restrict communications to *.youtube.com and *.ytimg.com:

    Code:
    --host-rules="MAP * 127.0.0.1, EXCLUDE *.youtube.com","MAP * 127.0.0.1, EXCLUDE *.ytimg.com"
    The final result would be:

    Code:
    [i]"C:\Program Files\Google Chrome\chrome.exe"[/i] --user-data-dir="%USERPROFILE%\AppData\Local\Google Chrome\Youtube" --host-rules="MAP * 127.0.0.1, EXCLUDE *.youtube.com","MAP * 127.0.0.1, EXCLUDE *.ytimg.com"
    From now on, just use this new profile, created only for Youtube. These restrictions should remove any ads from now on, and only allow the Youtube browser profile to connect only to *.youtube.com and the needed *.ytimg.com.

    You mentioned that you log into Youtube? You may need to add more exclusions to the --host-rules command. I don't login, so these restrictions/exclusions suffice.

    Otherwise, you could try and install an extension to remove Youtube ads?
     
  9. acr1965

    acr1965 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2006
    Posts:
    4,954
    The weird thing is this does not happen with Google Chrome, just SRware Iron. Maybe it would be better to just switch to Google Chrome? Is there a version of Google Chrome that installs in program files?

    Another thing, I just checked on another computer that has an older version of Iron (version 17+) and the https problem does not exist on Youtube. So maybe I'll just try to find an older version of Iron somewhere instead of switching to Google Chrome.
     
    Last edited: Nov 28, 2012
  10. Reimer

    Reimer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2008
    Posts:
    217
    The latest stable Chrome versions install into Program Files by default, last I checked.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.