SQL Slammer and DrWeb

Discussion in 'LnS English Forum' started by Mongol, Nov 15, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Mongol

Mongol Registered Member

I have been using Look N Stop for 3 years now and been a very happy camper. DrWeb and I became software friends about 11/2 years ago. Both are terrific programs but it seems that occasionally when I open DrWebs scanner it will find SQL Slammer and remove it. This ends up killing the firewall. I have tried adding the Look N Stop driver to DrWebs exclude list which seems to help reduce these hits a bit but they still occasionally happen. Any suggestions out there?. Maybe shut down the firewall for a minute before opening the scanner?. Whatever it is it seems to be memory resident. o_O

2. Frederic

Frederic LnS Developer

Hi,

Could you explain what happens exactly when "This ends up killing the firewall" ?
    Do you get an application crash ? or the application is just stopped as if you manually stopped it ?
    What happens if you set a password ? is the application also killed ?

Thanks,

Frederic

3. Mongol

Mongol Registered Member

Sorry I couldnt get back sooner but I was called into work on short notice. What happens is that DrWeb does a memory scan when you open the scanner and occasionally I get the message that DrWeb has eradicated SQL Slammer when it sweeps the Look N Stop.exe. I put the driver in the ignore list. After this happens the firewall closes down. Kinda weird eh?. I havent tried setting a password is that an option?.

4. Mongol

Mongol Registered Member

Frederic, I may of found the solution to the problem myself. The driver I added to DrWeb's exclude list was the LookNStop.exe in the Windows prefetch folder. It just dawned on me shouldnt it be the lnsfw1.exe in the Windows/system32 drivers folder?. o_O

5. Frederic

Frederic LnS Developer

Hi,

Not sure to understand your last sentence. Is there still an issue ?

Frederic

6. Defenestration