Spywareguard mscomctl.ocx missing windows 7?

Discussion in 'SpywareBlaster & Other Forum' started by Hypnos, Feb 12, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Hypnos

    Hypnos Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2010
    Posts:
    9
    Hi

    spywareguard says this file is missing although it is not. I have done a search but the only other posts I could find relate to XP not Windows 7.

    Thanks
     
  2. Cudni

    Cudni Global Moderator

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Posts:
    6,956
    Location:
    Somethingshire
    from
    http://www.javacoolsoftware.com/spywareguard.html
    "..
    Is SpywareGuard compatible with Windows Vista?
    We have not done extensive testing with SpywareGuard on Windows Vista. We recommend that you consider SpywareBlaster instead, which has been built for, and extensively tested with, Windows Vista.
    .."
    try spywareblaster instead otherwise run spywareguard using Run As administrator (right mouse click option on file) in case it makes a difference
     
  3. Hypnos

    Hypnos Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2010
    Posts:
    9
    Ah, I didnt see that.

    I tried installing Spywareblaster but cant seem to get it to run. All I get is a Windows User Account Control popup that when I click 'Yes' it does nothing. o_O
     
  4. Hypnos

    Hypnos Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2010
    Posts:
    9
    Still having no luck getting Spywareblaster 4.2 to run properly. I can see the process running in the taskmanger but it wont open the main window.

    Ive tried disabling my firewall and antivirus but that didnt help.
     
  5. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,779
    Location:
    Texas
    See this link. Spywareblaster does not need to run in the background.
     
  6. Hypnos

    Hypnos Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2010
    Posts:
    9
    I know it doesnt need to run in the background, the problem is I cant load it up to change the settings/download updates.
     
  7. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,779
    Location:
    Texas
    If the SpywareBlaster icon is on your desktop and you right click that icon, what options do you see?
     
    Last edited: Feb 16, 2010
  8. Hypnos

    Hypnos Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2010
    Posts:
    9
    Troubleshoot compatability, run as admin (I have set it to automatically run as admin)
     
    Last edited: Feb 18, 2010
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.