Spywareguard is supposed to show in the taskbar or no ? win Xp, also

Discussion in 'SpywareBlaster & Other Forum' started by corey, Jan 10, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. corey

    corey Guest

    I dont see it in my task bar and when i double click it or run it thru the start menu it still doesnt pop up in my task bar. Should it be there ?

    2 . I have norton internet security 2004 , anti-virus ,spam,popup killer , although i disabled norton firewall and use zone alarm.

    should all these work together ?

    3. If spywareguard works in the background without being in the taskbar then how do i disable if i dont want it to work ? I am guessing thru msconfig .. :rolleyes:

    Thanks in advance for any replies i get here it will be very helpful..
     
  2. Peaches4U

    Peaches4U Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    5,070
    Location:
    At my computer
    Hi Corey ...
    1. I use WinXP also - Spywareguard is on my taskbar. You might want to uninstal it and download it again. It is possible your initial download did not complete.

    2. I use ZoneAlarm Pro for a firewall and am quite happy with it so far. I used to have Norton but my subscription expired so I did not bother to renew. Unless there is reason to believe there is a conflict between the programs you installed but if they are running well, then there is no problem. I would also recommend that you add Ad-Aware and Spybot in order for you to scan your computer for any spyware on a regular basis. Another addition I recommend is SpywareBlaster. After you do the downloads, be sure to check for updates immediately. I have these programs and they all work well together ... no conflicts.

    http://www.safer-networking.org/index.php?lang=en&page=download

    http://www.lavasoftusa.com/support/download/

    http://www.javacoolsoftware.com/spywareblaster.html

    3. Why would you want to disable this program. o_O It protects you. Also, be sure to check for updates on a regular basis. It only uses 1.52mb .. not something to worry about.

    I hope I have been helpful. :)
     
  3. LowWaterMark

    LowWaterMark Administrator

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2002
    Posts:
    17,878
    Location:
    New England
    Hi corey,

    Regarding the SG icon not appearing in the systray, take a look at this thread. It explains how to tell if SpywareGuard is actually running (by looking in task manager for the two related processes) and it links to a thread that explains the occassional problem people have with the icon.

    http://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=18537

    Edit: Please also note that the Start menu item and desktop icon do not bring up the control interface screen in SpywareGuard. They simply start the background processes if they are not already running. The only way to bring up the interface is right-clicking on the systray icon. If that icon is not there, see the linked thread in the link I provided above for getting the icon into the tray.
     
  4. visitor

    visitor Guest

    I had similar problem that corey described. Not only SG icon not showing but slow and jerky mouse pointer movement, slow respond applications. Tried all the possible uninstall/install to no avail. Finally decided to get rid of it and for good, and rolled back to a previous restore point. Now my xp is normal
     
  5. LowWaterMark

    LowWaterMark Administrator

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2002
    Posts:
    17,878
    Location:
    New England
    Hi visitor,

    Yes, that certainly can happen... Some software products just conflict with certain systems, configurations or mixes of applications, and until a person tries that product on their own system, they won't know how it'll react. This is true for many different applications that have active processes running in the background, not just SpywareGuard.

    Perhaps a future version will work for you. Or maybe it won't ever be quite right on your system. But, it does work without any problems for a lot of people.
     
  6. visitor

    visitor Guest

    Thanks. you are right. I had similar problem with SpySweeper. And spykiller2003 gave me no chance to try it (0 days left) on the very first install.It seems my system is rejecting Spy proggies
     
  7. visitor

    visitor Guest

    After having problem with NOD repeat-update to the same file
    http://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=19428

    then I decided to check for spyware
    http://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=19532

    and with Pieter_Arntz help Finally NOD works perfectly. Today I remembered my post ->this
    and thought that the problem could be the same spyware, so decided to re- install SpywareGuard2.2 and surprizingly the installation and the update went smooth. So, it was that nasty spyware!!!!!!!!
    Now I have SpywareGuard2.2 installed for the first time
    Thanks again Pieter_Arntz
     
  8. LowWaterMark

    LowWaterMark Administrator

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2002
    Posts:
    17,878
    Location:
    New England
    Thanks visitor for tying the pieces of this puzzle together for us and posting back about it. This may help others in the future.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.