Spywareblaster update problems

Discussion in 'SpywareBlaster & Other Forum' started by jedi, Aug 18, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. jedi

    jedi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2004
    Posts:
    9
    I installed Spywareblaster and Spywareguard around the same time. They are the latest versions and work fine, but recently I cannot update either of them, I
    just get an error notice. Have tried disabling my firewall but it makes no difference. Javacoolsoftware home page directed me to this site so, any ideas anyone? I don't want to have to uninstall and re-install just to get the latest definitions. :doubt:
     
  2. dangitall

    dangitall Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2004
    Posts:
    430
    Location:
    New Hamster, USA
    Mornin', Jedi, and welcome to Wilders.

    I assume you've read the sticky posts here, here and here, right? Your answers can probably be found in these. If not, look around some, as updating these two programs is an occasional problem, and there have been several posts on this.

    I wish I could offer more, but I now have to leave for work.
     
  3. jedi

    jedi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2004
    Posts:
    9
    dangitall,
    Thanks for the links, as you probably guessed I haven't read them as I don't know my way around here yet.
    Will have a good read and come back here if I can't find a solution.
    And thanks for the welcome. Appreciated. :)
     
  4. jedi

    jedi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2004
    Posts:
    9
    Followed Javacools instructions in Tips and Tricks for manual update of Spywareblaster but when I overwrote the files I got a database error notice and error notices in all functions. So I uninstalled the whole thing and reinstalled it
    and it STILL won't update. Nor will SpywareGuard.
    I really like these programs and I want them on my system, but they're no use to me if they won't update.
    Suggestions, anyone?
     
  5. dangitall

    dangitall Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2004
    Posts:
    430
    Location:
    New Hamster, USA
    As far as the SpywareBlaster update goes, this is what I had to do to get it to work with the latest update: I followed the manual update method in the Tips & Tricks sticky. Then I opened the program, at which point it reported a corrupted database and offered to connect and correct the problem. I selected 'Yes', it connected, updated and everything has been working fine since.

    However, I would try this only after going to the Options tab and selecting "Use alternative download method'. (Open SpywareBlaster, click Updates, then Options.) This has generally worked for me.

    As for SpywareGuard, what is the definitions date at the bottom of the program screen? If it's 1/22/04, you're current.
     
  6. jedi

    jedi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2004
    Posts:
    9
    Just to let anyone who reads this know I found the answer, with a little help.
    It was as simple as, I'm on dial-up, my ISP had changed their number, and their notification of this involved a small download with new settings.
    When I reset my proxy connections to automatic, no more problems.

    So, while I do feel a bit stupid, at least it's sorted.
    Thanks Javacool.
    (You replied to my post in Spywareinfo and gave me the clue I needed) :)
     
  7. dangitall

    dangitall Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2004
    Posts:
    430
    Location:
    New Hamster, USA
    You weren't stupid: you came to the right place(s) for help! Glad it's resolved.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.