SpywareBlaster run, download, install errors - disappears

Discussion in 'SpywareBlaster & Other Forum' started by justhefax, Apr 3, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. justhefax

    justhefax Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Posts:
    1
    XP Home SP2 fully updated. Stop code error issues on boot.

    Had SWB 3.5.1 installed, running fine. Then 2x click icon, program won't run. Won't appear.

    Uninstalled.

    We tried to download SWB from several sites, when we click on the download button, the entire IE window just disappears. SWB 3.5.1, from download.com, majorgeeks.

    Tried Firefox. Still unable to dl.

    Also, had the download on a flash drive, transferred to HD, 2x click to install, no reaction.

    HijackThis scan OK. Virus, Spybot, Ad-aware, all OK.

    Dan
     
  2. Biscuit

    Biscuit Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2006
    Posts:
    978
    Location:
    Isle of Man
    Which sites did you try to download from?
     
  3. theforceinc

    theforceinc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2007
    Posts:
    3
    Same thing happens to my system. Windows XP SP2. I already have Spyware Blaster 3.5.1 installed and previously running. I pasted a shortcut on my startup folder so it would always run when i started windows. It is not running now. The shortcut is still there in the Startup Folder.

    Also whenever you try to search "spyware blaster" from your browser, whether be IE or Opera, the browser closes. Another is, if you use the windows explorer to browse the Program Files directory of Spyware Blaster, the window closes after a second of opening the Program directory of Spyware Blaster.

    I also have tried downloading the setup file on a flash drive to try and reinstall the software, but it also closes when the installation begins.

    There is definitely a trojan in my/our system. and it could not be detected by my antivirus(which is always updated everyday), and Spybot as well.

    Have you already encountered this? Any solution formulated?

    o_O
     
  4. ThunderZ

    ThunderZ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2006
    Posts:
    2,459
    Location:
    North central Ohio, U.S.A.
    You do not need to do this. Spywareblaster does not need to be running at startup. That is the beauty of this app. It sets "hooks" in the registry to block unwanted injections\writes. No running processes just a small 3+ MB folder on your hard drive.
    I am running it on XP64 Sp2 with no problems.
     
  5. theforceinc

    theforceinc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2007
    Posts:
    3
    Thanks, but that doesn't solve the problem.

    :(
     
  6. javacool

    javacool BrightFort Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Posts:
    3,997
    Hi,

    This definitely sounds like a virus, trojan, or some other type of malware.

    Please follow the instructions here: http://www.castlecops.com/t102301-Hijackthis_Guidelines_Read_Before_Posting.html

    They will guide you through scanning with various applications, to see if something can automatically detect and remove whatever is causing your problem.

    In the event that nothing detects it, you'll be asked to post a HijackThis log in the CastleCops forums - please do so, and post a link to that log back here.

    Thanks! :)

    Best regards,

    -Javacool
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.