SpywareBlaster needed?

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by twl845, Mar 30, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. twl845

    twl845 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Posts:
    4,186
    Location:
    USA
    Looking at my signature, you you think SpywareBlaster is still needed on my set up?:)
     
  2. Brocke

    Brocke Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Posts:
    2,191
    Location:
    USA,IA
    id use it as a very simple layer of protection.
     
  3. dw426

    dw426 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2007
    Posts:
    5,543
    For the simple fact that it prevents a lot of bad Active X, I'd keep it if you use IE. Other than that it's basically useless, though admittedly it uses no resources.
     
  4. ratwing

    ratwing Guest

    I almost never use IE8.(SpyWareBlaster is clearly geared to IE)
    That said, I use SpyWareBlaster.
    No overhead,I just need to remember to update it ever 15 days or so.
    Does it help?
    Who Knows?
    Does it hurt?
    No.
    respect,
    Rat
     
  5. hayc59

    hayc59 Updates Team

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2008
    Posts:
    2,138
    Location:
    R.I.P. Roger(roddy32)
    But ofcourse! SpywareBlaster just gives you
    that extra core :thumb:
     
  6. progress

    progress Guest

    It's not needed but it doesn't hurt :D
     
  7. gery

    gery Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2008
    Posts:
    1,786
    i agree but SB is that needed
     
  8. twl845

    twl845 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Posts:
    4,186
    Location:
    USA
    Thanks for the opinions everyone. I've used SpywareBlaster so long I think I'll keep it. :)
     
  9. Victek

    Victek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Posts:
    5,133
    Location:
    USA
    .
    Are you aware of the problem with having a very long restricted sites list in IE8? Basically it seriously degrades performance. I had to stop using Spyware Blaster and empty the restricted zone after upgrading to IE8. I'm not aware of any other negative impacts.
     
  10. BoerenkoolMetWorst

    BoerenkoolMetWorst Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Posts:
    3,771
    Location:
    Outer space
    I use both Spybot S&D and SpywareBlaster for blacklisting, and I don't notice slowdown in IE8, and I also use a hosts file and IE8's InPrivate filtering feature with an imported list from AdBlock.
     
  11. twl845

    twl845 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Posts:
    4,186
    Location:
    USA
    I don't use IE8 as a rule, but when I have I don't see any degradation. Thanks for the tip though. :)
     
Loading...
Similar Threads
  1. koliko
    Replies:
    19
    Views:
    1,086
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.