SpywareBlaster & Mozilla

Discussion in 'SpywareBlaster & Other Forum' started by flyingbreton, May 12, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. flyingbreton

    flyingbreton Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2004
    Posts:
    5
    I've just installed Mozilla browser. After launching SpywareBlaster v3.1 I found in the status window that for it Mozilla is not installed. I've uninstalled SpywareBlaster and reinstalled it to no avail. Is it hopeless?:)
    Thanks.
     
  2. Nick

    Nick Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2002
    Posts:
    187
    Location:
    California
    What version of Mozilla are you using? It only supports version 1.7 I believe. Also, only Mozilla Firefox version 0.8 is supported.
     
  3. flyingbreton

    flyingbreton Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2004
    Posts:
    5
    I use version 1.6 which is the latest one (there is no such thing as v1.7<g>)
     
  4. Nick

    Nick Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2002
    Posts:
    187
    Location:
    California
    Version 1.7 is still beta, but it changes the way it handles the cookies, or at least the way it stores them. So SpywareBlaster has been made to work only with 1.7 and above. I made comments on another forum, and that is the answer Javacool gave me.
     
  5. flyingbreton

    flyingbreton Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2004
    Posts:
    5
    Thanks. I'll try to find this beta version.
     
  6. themag

    themag Guest

    i ahve the 0.8 version and that support spywareblaster
     
  7. flyingbreton

    flyingbreton Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2004
    Posts:
    5
    What's the difference between Mozilla and Firefox?
     
  8. dog

    dog Guest

    Hi Flying Breton, :)

    The simple difference is Firefox is the on cutting edge of Mozilla's technology, there both from the same source.

    I've just started using FireFox and really love it, it's now my main browser, and just to keep the post on topic, SB does provide protection for FireFox 0.8.

    Here's some links so you can investigate the differences.


    Mozilla Home Page
    Mozilla 1.6
    FireFox 0.8
    Press Release from Mozilla Re: FireFox

    HTH, :)

    dog - *puppy*
     
  9. flyingbreton

    flyingbreton Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2004
    Posts:
    5
    Thanx. Now I have FireFox installed but for SpywareBlaster Mozilla/Firefox is still not installed. So I think if I want to avoid problems I'll have to revert to IE.
     
  10. dog

    dog Guest

    Hi Flying Breton, :)

    SB will protect FireFox too, simply open SB, in the bottom section "Quick Task" select enable all protection, and now FireFox will be protected by SB.

    dog - *puppy*
     
  11. Diamond T

    Diamond T Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2004
    Posts:
    17
    Location:
    Alberta, Canada
    "It only supports version 1.7 I believe"?? Hmmm - I'm using 1.5 and SpywareBlaster v3.1 works just fine.
     
  12. javacool

    javacool BrightFort Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Posts:
    3,997
    Hi,

    Have you checked in Mozilla to see if the cookies are in the cookie blocking list? They shouldn't be. :doubt: (As SpywareBlaster doesn't support the format used in that version of Mozilla.)

    Best regards,

    -Javacool
     
  13. Diamond T

    Diamond T Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2004
    Posts:
    17
    Location:
    Alberta, Canada
    Oops - my mistake! In SpywareBlaster - Moxilla/Firefox protection is enabled - 0 items have protection disabled. When I loaded SB on to friends computer who doesn't have Mozilla the Mozilla area was greyed out so I thought mine was working. Don't use Mozilla much anyway so no big deal. Thanks for clearing that up for me.
     
  14. nicoboss

    nicoboss Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2004
    Posts:
    5
    Location:
    Paris
    Hi !
    Spywareblaster & spywareguard are both installed on my machine.
    I've just downloaded Firefox and installed it on an alternate HD (= not C: ).
    There's only one user on this machine and it is an admin user.
    Looking in Spywareblaster mozilla/firefox options it seems it doesn't detect firefox, even after a reboot.
    clicking "enable all protections" doesn't ungrey mozilla/firefox protection, that spywareblaster says is not installed.
    Does anybody have an idea ?
    thanks
    Nicoboss
     
  15. burrism

    burrism Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2004
    Posts:
    10
    I have asked a number of times as well.

    I have 2 XPPro machines, both with Mozilla 1.8a1

    On one machine, all is well...on the other, Blaster will not discover Mozilla. I have tried re-installing both programs many times. Weird....

    burris
     
  16. nicoboss

    nicoboss Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2004
    Posts:
    5
    Location:
    Paris

    I don't dare playing with my regedit but I suppose we would find there the clue... or maybe in the Paths (I tried but did not find what to add)

    Could someone guide us ?

    Thanks

    Nicoboss
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.