SpywareBlaster and Spyware Doctor conflict

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by JRCATES, Aug 30, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. JRCATES

    JRCATES Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2005
    Posts:
    1,203
    Location:
    USA
    I am using version 3.4 of SpywareBlaster, and version 3.2 of Spyware Doctor (PC Tools). I've noticed a somewhat rather odd conflict between these two apps.

    First, when I scan with Spyware Doctor, it flags these particular items:

    [​IMG]

    And IF I choose to remove these entries....it has a rather odd effect on SpywareBlaster. After removal, Spyware Blaster lists "6 items have protection disabled" for Internet Explorer. Here is a screenshot:

    [​IMG]

    And here are the items listed in SpywareBlaster, that have protection disabled. You can see that these are the same items Spyware Doctor is removing:

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    So obviously, Spyware Doctor is flagging these items that SpywareBlaster has enabled protection for. But once Spyware Doctor removed them, they are "disabled" in SpywareBlaster! I am assuming these are false positives from Spyware Doctor, because none of my other scanners (Ad-Aware, A-Squared, VirusScan, TrojanHunter, KAV web scanner, etc.) are flagging them......but could somebody please explain exactly HOW SpywareBlaster's protection works? And if Spyware Doctor removes these entries, why they are disabled within SpywareBlaster?
     
  2. Detox

    Detox Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    8,507
    Location:
    Texas, USA
    SpywareBlaster sets the registry killbits - and Spyware Doctor basically is using too "generic" of a signature for detection. They are detecting SpywareBlaster's protection as the baddy that SWB is actually protecting against. This is no new story with Spyware Doctor if I am not mistaken - you might submit the FPs to them.
     
  3. JRCATES

    JRCATES Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2005
    Posts:
    1,203
    Location:
    USA
    Thanks, Detox. Yeah, that was pretty much what I was thinking....but it always helps to hear it and to be reassured.

    I will report this to Spyware Doctor, but they do not have a forum presense and I believe that their tech support is understaffed at the moment, so it may be a while before I hear anything back. I'll pass it along as or if I do.

    Thanks again
     
  4. sclausen

    sclausen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2005
    Posts:
    8
    Thanks, I have sent this thread to our Malware Researchers and will post a reply once they have investigated.

    Regards,

    Simon Clausen
     
  5. JRCATES

    JRCATES Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2005
    Posts:
    1,203
    Location:
    USA
    Thank you, Simon, that will be very helpful. I'm sure other Spyware Doctor AND SpywareBlaster users will appreciate this :D
     
  6. JonPaulOnLine

    JonPaulOnLine Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2005
    Posts:
    96
    Location:
    Philadelphia PA USA
    Yes,


    Thank you


    I was in the same boat as your scenario

    Thanks again
     
  7. rawr

    rawr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2005
    Posts:
    128
    Location:
    Illinois, U.S.A
    .. just add those 12 registry entry's to the ignore list in Spyware Doctor. :D
     
  8. sclausen

    sclausen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2005
    Posts:
    8
    Hi all, I was advised by our MRC guys that this was resolved in the database that was released last Friday (2nd). Please run Live Update and make sure you are using database version 3.0296 or greater.

    Best,

    Simon
     
  9. rawr

    rawr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2005
    Posts:
    128
    Location:
    Illinois, U.S.A
    How do you find out the version of the database for SpywareBlaster? I'm pretty sure I have the most recent update (9/02/2005 - 4349 Items in Database) .. and it still conflicts with my Spyware Doctor 3.2.
     
  10. Detox

    Detox Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    8,507
    Location:
    Texas, USA
    You do have your SWB updated all the way - you can tell by trying to update and finding no new update.

    However, sclausen is from Spyware Doctor - he means that it should be fixed in the newest Spyware Doctor database release ;-)
     
  11. Bubba

    Bubba Updates Team

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2002
    Posts:
    11,271
    Hello Simon,

    I would ask your MRC guys to Please re-check their findings.

    I removed all Spywareblaster and Spybot Immunization protection. I then manually added the suspect URL's to Internet Explorer's Per Site Cookie section....minus qksrv.net for personal verification\confirmation purposes. The valid blocked cookie entries are still being falsely flagged by SpywareDoctor with the latest 3.02930 database.
     

    Attached Files:

    • SDfp.gif
      SDfp.gif
      File size:
      14.5 KB
      Views:
      778
    Last edited: Sep 4, 2005
  12. JonPaulOnLine

    JonPaulOnLine Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2005
    Posts:
    96
    Location:
    Philadelphia PA USA
    Re: SpywareBlaster and Spyware Doctor

    Bubba

    You are sharp

    Thanks for that report

    I am staying on the sidelines, and not removing any displayed potential nasty's , until this issue
    is resolved


    thanks again for the information
     
  13. sclausen

    sclausen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2005
    Posts:
    8
    My apologies, I got the database version right, it will be fixed in 3.0296x or greater, but got the release date wrong. It went to external beta testers on Friday and will go live in about 2 hours.

    Bubba, if you have DB 3.02930 you are probably running the trial version as that is always 2 DBs behind the registered version. FYI, when you look at the version numbers of the DB the first 4 digits after the decimal point are significant, the last digit is just a build number (i.e. 3.VVVVb).

    Simon
     
  14. Bubba

    Bubba Updates Team

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2002
    Posts:
    11,271
    I am indeed Simon as seen in the pic I posted and as are most of the folks that I assist with here @ Wilders and other Forums. I wish I could afford all the programs that I attempt to help with....but with as many as there are out there....that would not be feasible.

    Thanks for checking into this....and will pass this info on to all those that are experiencing this problem with the trial version.
     
    Last edited: Sep 4, 2005
  15. Bubba

    Bubba Updates Team

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2002
    Posts:
    11,271
    The registered version as of database 3.02960(32792 intelli-signatures) is no longer falsely flagging the above mentioned entries.

    I have also taken the liberty to move this to a more appropriate Forum since this is not necessarily a Spywareblaster issue.
     
  16. Cantos

    Cantos Guest

    A basic question

    I just downloaded SWB 3.4 turn enabled all protection. What I want to know is that do I run a scan with this pgm like AD-Aware and SpyDoctor or this pgm
    wont scan or remove anything it's only prevent thing get into my PC.
    You guys must know the answer to this. Thanks.
     
  17. JRCATES

    JRCATES Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2005
    Posts:
    1,203
    Location:
    USA
    Re: A basic question

    That is correct, Cantos.....SpywareBlaster is a spyware PREVENTION program. It does NOT "scan" for malware like Spyware Doctor, Ad Aware, and others do. Just be sure to check for updates periodically, and make sure that your SpywareBlaster definitions database is current and up to date.......
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.