SpywareBlaster and lost Internet Connection !

Discussion in 'SpywareBlaster & Other Forum' started by greenhorn, Jan 17, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. greenhorn

greenhorn Registered Member

I am a novice with an XP computer using a DSL internet connection with the IE6.0 browser. The computer has had Norton Internet Security and Anti-Virus protection together with E anti-virus from SBC and a built-in firewall in the 2Wire internet connection box. Everything worked smoothly until I downloaded Spybot and SpywareBlaster 2 days ago. IE runs and connects to some web sites but not to others: Microsoft (so no updates), my bank accounts, my health insurer, etc. I am a novice at this and not competent to work out my own fixes. What can I do?

Last edited by a moderator: Jan 18, 2005
  2. Phant0m

Phant0m Registered Member

Re: SpywareBlaster is KILLING my internet connection !

Run SpywareBlaster, In Protection section click on “Restricted sites” Tab, remove checkmark for “Restrict the actions of spyware/ad/tracking sites in Internet Explorer.” and begin browsing, does this help?

If not run SpywareBlaster if it isn’t already running and In Protection section click on “Disable All Protection” link found in “Status” Tab, now begin browsing, does this help?

3. greenhorn

Thanks, PhantOm, for your suggestions to try first unchecking "Restrict actions ... in IE," then clicking "Disable All Protection" link. Unfortunately, neither had any effect, whether I then went immediately to IE or restarted my computer before opening IE. I am still unable to open web sites that matter most to me (Microsoft updates, bank accounts, etc.), while retaining normal access to other web sites.

Can I safely uninstall SpywareBlaster and Spybot without wreaking more havoc?

4. Phant0m

Hey

When you done that, did you see if there were still things in IE “Restricted sites”?