Spyware Terminator Release Version 2.6.9.132 (03/30/10)

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by Brocke, Mar 30, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Brocke

    Brocke Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Posts:
    2,191
    Location:
    USA,IA
    For anyone interested heres a new Release.

    change log:

    Download: -http://dnl.spywareterminator.com/dnl/config/359/SpywareTerminatorSetup.exe-
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Mar 30, 2010
  2. progress

    progress Guest

    Anti-phishing Protection from a spyware developer - great :thumbd:
     
  3. raven211

    raven211 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2005
    Posts:
    2,567
    Now you're going WAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAY back, ance. :D
     
  4. majoMo

    majoMo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2007
    Posts:
    938
    Thanks for the info, Brocke.

    An excellent real time protection app.. Anti-phishing Protection is welcomed now indeed.

    I don't know if in this version some issues deserved a give heed by the developer yet: 1. freezes annoyances; conflit with Sandboxie, allowing a delay in sandboxed app's..
     
  5. Victek

    Victek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Posts:
    5,127
    Location:
    USA
    .
    Are you referring to the business in 2005 mentioned on spywarewarrior.com or do you believe they are currently a spyware developer?
     
  6. Brocke

    Brocke Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Posts:
    2,191
    Location:
    USA,IA

    so you get freezing in the newest version with sandboxie?

    please post that bug in their support forum so it can get fixed. guess that wasnt seen or heard about.

    forum.spywareterminator.com
     
  7. ratwing

    ratwing Guest

    Does the sprasser.exe,or what ever it is called,still suck RAM like a mad-dog
    vampire?

    If not, it gives a lot for free.

    There are software concerns that are justified by multitudes,
    for little else.
     
  8. progress

    progress Guest

    Exact :(
     
  9. bellgamin

    bellgamin Very Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2002
    Posts:
    5,648
    Location:
    Hawaii
    ST is an excellent freebie. Very broad spectrum in its protection. Has a decent HIPS, also. A bit heavy on cpu's the last time I tried it.

    Not a rogue product by any means.
     
  10. AvinashR

    AvinashR Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    Posts:
    2,060
    Location:
    New Delhi Metallo β-Lactamase 1
  11. Brocke

    Brocke Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Posts:
    2,191
    Location:
    USA,IA
    ST will be starting a beta for 64bit OS in a few months. Will be nice.


    but they do support windows 7 32bit.
     
  12. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,883
    Location:
    Canada
    i thing it is a nice hips program in deny mode ;)
     
  13. Brocke

    Brocke Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Posts:
    2,191
    Location:
    USA,IA

    yup, in normal mode it builds a database of all your files and if one of those files are either new or changed then you get a HIPs alert.
     
  14. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,883
    Location:
    Canada
    nice indeed;)
     
  15. Brocke

    Brocke Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Posts:
    2,191
    Location:
    USA,IA
    the anti phishing uses the database from phishtank and i think WOT. but for sure phishtank.
     
  16. Victek

    Victek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Posts:
    5,127
    Location:
    USA
    .
    I would like to try and understand this better. Other security vendors have walked the line before and gotten a little too close to advertisers, but then stepped back in response to objections from the user base. For instance many people objected that the Norton toolbar includes a search window that uses ask.com. Symantec responded by hiding the search window by default. That is not exactly a solution IMHO, but anyway people moved on and now no one considers Norton security products "spyware". In the case of Spyware Terminator it was put on probation by www.spywarewarrior.com not because it contained spyware, but because of the association between Crawler and Ibis. It was later "de-listed" and declared to not be "rogue/suspect". So my question is why do you (and others) still have this negative opinion of Spyware Terminator?
     
  17. Brocke

    Brocke Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Posts:
    2,191
    Location:
    USA,IA

    i agree, i really like ST and they work hard on updating/improving their product. they are always open to suggestion on improving.
     
  18. Victek

    Victek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Posts:
    5,127
    Location:
    USA
    .
    Yes, I also like that they keep improving ST. I think it's a mistake to avoid it because of something that happened almost five years ago, however it's fair to keep looking at them and all the other security vendors as well. They are in business to make money, they have to market their products, they have relationships with advertisers. I have to feel confident that security & privacy are the first priority. Your favorite vendor could "fall off the wagon" at any time :D
     
  19. raven211

    raven211 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2005
    Posts:
    2,567
    You know, when it comes to security software, that period of time equals to many, MANY light years. :D
     
  20. clocks

    clocks Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2007
    Posts:
    2,559
    I always thought this program had potential, but also found it used a ton of memory when you add all its processes.
     
  21. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,883
    Location:
    Canada
    how many procesess does SpyWare Terminator has?and how much memory/cpu it uses?i want to give it a try;)
     
  22. Brocke

    Brocke Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Posts:
    2,191
    Location:
    USA,IA

    ill check it out tonight and get back to you. :thumb:
     
  23. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,883
    Location:
    Canada
    thanks;) i also want to give a try as my hips will die soon(Malawre Defender)
     
  24. ratwing

    ratwing Guest

    Agreed! That is pretty much my memory of the program as well.

    As I said,that particular process,I thank it is "sprasser",was a glutton.
     
  25. Brocke

    Brocke Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Posts:
    2,191
    Location:
    USA,IA
    ok only 2 process now.

    spyware terminator realtime.exe 4800k memory use
    spyware terminator update.exe 5564 memory use.


    thats about it.

    also when you can you can give ST full CPU by allowing it to stay main focused or you can minize it and uses alot less CPU time.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.