Spyware Terminator 2.5.9.223 released

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by Victek, Jul 29, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Victek

    Victek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Posts:
    5,127
    Location:
    USA
    I know, there doesn't seem to be a lot of interest in Spyware Terminator here, but I had good experiences with it in the past and they DO keep updating it. If you're using it then chime in :)
     
  2. firzen771

    firzen771 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Posts:
    4,815
    Location:
    Canada
    any changelog?
     
  3. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,883
    Location:
    Canada
    i love this hips part of SpyWare Terminator:thumb:
     
  4. andyman35

    andyman35 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2007
    Posts:
    2,336
    I know that some folk are anti this because of Crawler's history,but I like ST personally and the HIPS component is rather good IMO.
     
  5. the Tester

    the Tester Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2002
    Posts:
    2,854
    Location:
    The Gateway to the Blue Hills,WI.
    I tried it for a while when it was first mentioned here.
    IIRC, the scanner had a lot of false positives.
     
  6. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,883
    Location:
    Canada
    matt also tested ST againts 10 infected websites and i believe it blocks them all if i remenber;) :)
     
  7. zopzop

    zopzop Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2006
    Posts:
    632
    Has anyone ever tested the HIPS component of Spyware Terminator? It seems like a decent enough program, just unproven/tested.
     
  8. firzen771

    firzen771 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Posts:
    4,815
    Location:
    Canada
    the HIPS is quite limited when compared to other HIPS products people use, first of all, it doesn't have dll injection protection (not sure if they fixed it in this version) along with other limitations and the scanner is mediocre at best. i still wish ther was a changelog to see whats improved
     
  9. raven211

    raven211 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2005
    Posts:
    2,567
    It's tested by Matt Rizos at www.Remove-Malware.com - search his pages. ;)
     
  10. andyman35

    andyman35 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2007
    Posts:
    2,336
  11. Victek

    Victek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Posts:
    5,127
    Location:
    USA
    .
    Here is a link to their forum where new versions are announced.

    http://forum.spywareterminator.com/Default.aspx?g=topics&f=5
     
  12. Brocke

    Brocke Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Posts:
    2,191
    Location:
    USA,IA

    Well if you set the real time shields to Advanced instead of basic anything that is not in the database will be asked for user input,


    they hips works in the same fashion, do when DLL are change and or loaded HIPS will alart .

    you can also change the shields so it ask for every input possible.



    so until you really use the Spyware Terminator i wouldnt say what it can and cant do.

    you can always find a change log here

    http://forum.spywareterminator.com/Default.aspx?g=topics&f=5


    it does work great and they are working on 64bit support and Windows 7 support due out this fall. Clam av can also be integrated for more detection.
     
  13. IceCube1010

    IceCube1010 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2008
    Posts:
    963
    Location:
    Earth
    When I tried it a few months ago, I thought the hips wasn't all that bad. I actually liked how ST knew that you were installing something and that it would switch back after the installation.

    Ice
     
  14. raven211

    raven211 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2005
    Posts:
    2,567
    The way you're saying it now it sounds like it did this automatically (goes into Install Mode, restores normal operation) - that's at least not what I experienced the last time I tested the software, but it would definitely change my mind. :D

    Thanks for any further info.
     
  15. IceCube1010

    IceCube1010 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2008
    Posts:
    963
    Location:
    Earth
    Yep. That's the idea but at the time I was using Avast and it had a problem when Avast did it's updates. It would think it was in install mode or something instead of a definition update. It bothered me so I uninstalled it at that time.

    Ice
     
  16. dell boy

    dell boy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2009
    Posts:
    240
    Location:
    uk, england
    yeh i had the same ice, also about the installation detection, it doesnt automatically come on it just says; installation detected, do you want to go into installation mode
    also what concerned me, it maybe just me but what are their motives... why produce a completely free product without a paid version....
    im not trying to undermine a company but if someone actually knows how they are making money from a free product please say..
     
  17. tipstir

    tipstir Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2008
    Posts:
    830
    Location:
    SFL, USA
    Ekk! This program doesn't really do anything except run those annoying pop-ups then you Spyware Doctor with Anti-Virus beats it. But neither is as good as what most of us here you. Just better off running Rising PC Doctor instead.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.