Spyware on Linux?

Discussion in 'other security issues & news' started by Pain of Salvation, Feb 25, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Pain of Salvation

    Pain of Salvation Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Posts:
    398
    Are there spywares for linux? I don t know why, but my Firefox aways starts with the University of Arizona's home page.
     
  2. BlueZannetti

    BlueZannetti Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2003
    Posts:
    6,590
    That would seem to be a very strange choice for spyware at first glance. What makes you say spyware? Are you unable to change the home page?

    Blue
     
  3. tansu

    tansu Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2005
    Posts:
    210
    Are you using Suse?
    Because, same thing happened to me with Opera and firefox both, I thought it was a DNS problem. have you ever visited University of Arizona's home page before?
     
  4. dog [away]

    dog [away] Guest

    Maybe they were the ones that compiled/packaged the RPM, if you didn't do it yourself?
     
  5. Pain of Salvation

    Pain of Salvation Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Posts:
    398
    I wasnt able to change the home page, thats why I said "spyware"...

    I have never visited this page before...
    I think the problem was on the command... it was "firefox %U" (dont know exactly..), so I changed to just "firefox", and now its all ok.
     
  6. TNT

    TNT Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2005
    Posts:
    948
    the command firefox <some url> makes Firefox start with that url as initial page. Maybe that's why.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.