Spyware Doctor plus Antivirus Starter Edition

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by Ibrad, Dec 31, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Ibrad

    Ibrad Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Posts:
    1,949
    Today when I went to Google Pack to download Spyware Doctor starter edition to test I noticed they replaced it with Spyware Doctor plus Antivirus starter edition :eek:

    Has anyone tried this before? Did it slow down your PC?
     
  2. clocks

    clocks Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2007
    Posts:
    2,559
    I tried it briefly, and did not notice any slowdowns.
     
  3. Brocke

    Brocke Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Posts:
    2,191
    Location:
    USA,IA
    whats the difference between the starter and paid?
     
  4. RejZoR

    RejZoR Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    6,426
    Starter doesn't use all the signatures provided which makes it rather useless...
     
  5. vijayind

    vijayind Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2008
    Posts:
    1,413
    Starter Edition lacks heavy malware cleanup, behavioral (ThreatFire) module
    and ability to block malware laden emails/sites.
    But it does contain both AV & AS along with a real-time component.

    More details:
    http://www.pctools.com/spyware-doctor/google_pack/
     
  6. Vladimyr

    Vladimyr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2009
    Posts:
    461
    Location:
    Australia
    Hi RejZor
    I don't think they're mucking around by having different sigs any more. SE has just 2 'Guards' rather than the full 637. (I lied. Actually it's only 10 :D )
     

    Attached Files:

  7. JohnnyDollar

    JohnnyDollar Guest

    I'll bet this product is heavy. PC Tools spyware doctor has always been heavy IMO. Correct me if I am wrong, but the av component isn't exactly a top tier anti-virus. Also, don't be surprised if you develop update issues with the starter edition.
     
  8. firzen771

    firzen771 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Posts:
    4,815
    Location:
    Canada
    the spyware doctor + AV is actually pretty strong, although it is pretty heavy it is good in detection and prevention. just the AV alone is bad because it has no AS.
     
  9. UncleOrange

    UncleOrange Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Posts:
    12
    free,and use Norton Definition,look like good
     
  10. firzen771

    firzen771 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Posts:
    4,815
    Location:
    Canada
    umm... what makes u say its using Norton's Definitions? its owned by Symantec but that doesnt mean they have the same signatures.
     
  11. acr1965

    acr1965 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2006
    Posts:
    4,954
    On most of the tests I have seen it looked like the paid program was pretty heavily dependant on Threatfire. I would guess you could just add TF (and maybe even the firewall) along with this freebie if you wanted.

    @ Vladimyr - why do you believe PC Tools is not short changing the free product with sigs anymore?
     
  12. Vladimyr

    Vladimyr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2009
    Posts:
    461
    Location:
    Australia
    I don't have inside info and I haven't compared the latest version (v.7) but last time I did (I think it was 6.1.0.441), the indicated sig count was the same for both 'SD+AV' and 'SD+AVSE'.
     
  13. clocks

    clocks Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2007
    Posts:
    2,559

    I do not remember it being heavy. I would use Threatfire on top of it though for added protection. It's free.
     
  14. UncleOrange

    UncleOrange Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Posts:
    12

    maybe you can use it to scan some virus,and will find some Norton‘s file in the SD With Antivirus’s folder:D ,and you will trust it
     
  15. progress

    progress Guest

    I agree, it's crippled ...
     
  16. Frencho

    Frencho Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Posts:
    25
    Location:
    Spain
    I cannot install Threatfire after installing Spyware Doctor with AV Starter edition from Google Pack because it tells me that Threatfire is already installed on my PC. Does this mean that Threatfire is included in the starter edition of SD with AV? There is a "TFengine" folder inside the Spyware Doctor folder in program files... I repeat my question then: Is TF included in the free version of Spyware Doctor? I thought that behaviour guard was only in the paid version.o_O
     
    Last edited: Jan 7, 2010
  17. captcha

    captcha Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Posts:
    4
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.