Spyware Doctor finds Block Checker

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by JerryM, Sep 2, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. JerryM

    JerryM Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2003
    Posts:
    4,221
    I downloaded the free version of Spyware Doctor as an added layer of AS.
    I have Counterspy plus the usual Adaware, Spybot, and Spyware Blaster.

    In scanning my system SD found 12 instances of Block Checker. It tells me that;
    "Block-checker is a program which is used to check if your friends are blocking you on MSN, Yahoo or AOL. This program hijacks your messenger services by automatically sending messages such as "I know who's blocking me on MSN because I use http://www.block-checker.com". It also adds itself to the firewall exclusion policies."

    I am surprised that SD caught these when some good AS programs did not, or are these things that others ignore as harmless?


    Thanks,
    Jerry
     
  2. JRCATES

    JRCATES Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2005
    Posts:
    1,203
    Location:
    USA
    Hi Jerry,

    While I think that Spyware Doctor is an excellent anti-spyware program, I believe that this could be a false positive....ESPECIALLY since you are using SpywareBlaster, like I am. I posted a thread about this in the SpywareBlaster forum, and have asked PC Tools to check into this as well. Here is the thread:

    SpywareBlaster and Spyware Doctor conflict

    The above thread discusses in detail what I encountered with Spyware Doctor flagging these items, and how they were then removed from SpywareBlaster's enabled protection. Detox may be right in his assessment....but regardless, this needs to be looked into by Spyware Doctor. I do think that Spyware Doctor is a very good AS program, even if this is a FP.
     
  3. JerryM

    JerryM Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2003
    Posts:
    4,221
    Hi JR,
    Thanks for the information and the link. It appears that we are getting the same items identified as malware. I have quarantined them and so they can be restored.

    When/if you receive a reply from the SD folks, please post it. In the meantime I'll just leave them in quarantine. I have not had a response from Spyware Blaster after the quarantine.

    Thanks again,
    Jerry
     
  4. Bubba

    Bubba Updates Team

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2002
    Posts:
    11,271
    Correct me if I am wrong....but if you leave those valid Spywareblaster entries in quarantine they will not be providing the intended Spywareblaster protection :doubt:
     
  5. JerryM

    JerryM Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2003
    Posts:
    4,221
    Hi Bubba,
    I can't correct anyone in this area. Would you suggest that I restore them?

    Thanks,
    Jerry
     
  6. groundling

    groundling Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2003
    Posts:
    20
    Hello Jerry,
    Blockchecker is a pain, and a dubious program.
    It was not considered malware by some.
    Best info (plus a removal tool ) are at Jay Loden's site.

    Originally he did not consider it malware and had a column explaining why.
    He has now changed his mind:
    http://www.jayloden.com/block-checker.htm

    Mcafee detects this as Adclicker-DF
    http://vil.nai.com/vil/content/v_135579.htm

    If you've installed it. Get rid of it.
    It spams everyone in your contact , buddy list.
    Your friends will thank you,
     
  7. Bubba

    Bubba Updates Team

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2002
    Posts:
    11,271
    Jerry....if I am reading your response correctly in your above post....you have the same results as JRCATES in regards to the link posted ?

    If so....those were valid Spywareblaster cookie entries and if you open Spywareblaster you should now see those items unchecked. Having said that....yes you should restore them if you want those cookie protection entries. As usual....all the adware cleaning programs have False positives every once and awhile. I have no doubt the Spyware Doctor folks will address their False positive mistake in a timely matter.
     
  8. JerryM

    JerryM Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2003
    Posts:
    4,221
    JR,
    Do you have the full version of Spyware Doctor? My freebie does not give the option of remove, but just to quarantine.

    Groundling,

    Thanks for the site.

    Bubba,
    I understand better now. I did not look at my SpywareBlaster earlier, but having looked at it I do not find anything unchecked or of the names mentioned.

    I have no idea how Block Checker got on my computer, as I did not download it.

    I got the tool that Jay Loden's site provided, and ran it. The tool said that Block Checker could not be found. Evidently it is not on my machine. Since I cannot remove it with SD, I have not had the situation with SpywareBlaster that JR experienced.

    Jerry
     
  9. Bubba

    Bubba Updates Team

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2002
    Posts:
    11,271
    Hey Jerry,

    I just downloaded the freebie version and updated it's database. It found 12 items....all of which were Cookie entries from Spywareblaster. Are you sure you were able to Quarantine with the freebie version :doubt: The only applicable selection after the scan for me was Finish.

    If you were indeed not able to Quarantine as mentioned above....the items would still be blocked in Spywarewareblaster. I would ask you to re-check that all Cookie entries are checked in Spywareblaster and then re-run Spyware Doctor. If the scan result comes back with the same 12 supposedly Block-Checker items....I would hope you understand SpywareDoctor is Falsely reporting Valid Spywareblaster items.
     

    Attached Files:

    • SDfp.gif
      SDfp.gif
      File size:
      10.8 KB
      Views:
      232
  10. FastGame

    FastGame Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2005
    Posts:
    677
    Location:
    Blasters worm farm
    I'm getting the same Block Checker detection, I don't have SpywareBlaster and never did.

    I don't have Block Checker either...hmm o_O
     
  11. Bubba

    Bubba Updates Team

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2002
    Posts:
    11,271
    The program Spywareblaster is only being mentioned because the thread participants up to now are Spywareblaster users. These same False positive results will be seen for users of other similar programs....Spybot Immunization users for one. So Please tell us some of your Security\Privacy software and I'm certain we can assist you in explaining these same False positives.
     
  12. JerryM

    JerryM Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2003
    Posts:
    4,221
    Hi bubba,
    I am getting the same entries that you show. While the option to quarantine does not show as such, that is where the entries go when I click fix or whatever the button is (I don't have it open right now).

    I examined the Spyware Blaster and all blocks are checked.
    However, at the next scan the same 12 entries show in SD so it doesn't appear that SD has really done anything, and SB has not been affected.

    I appreciate your help, and it is obvious that these are FP. I can just ignore them. I had a trial version of Spy Sweeper that identified BDswithch agent as possible malware and that is a part of Bit Defender. I knew that so I ignored it, but did not know about the Block Checker until this thread.
    Many thanks to all of you for your help.

    Now we'll see how PC Tools handles the problem.

    Jerry
     
  13. FastGame

    FastGame Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2005
    Posts:
    677
    Location:
    Blasters worm farm
    Hi Bubba, I don't have any other AntiSpyware, use to have SpyBot S&D but thats been off for a year, MSAS has been off my machine for 6 months...maybe one of those two did the immunization ?
     
  14. Bubba

    Bubba Updates Team

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2002
    Posts:
    11,271
    Of those 2 programs mentioned....Spybot is the only one that adds Cookie entries for Internet Explorer protection. MSAS does not have the features found in Spywareblaster or Spybot's Immunization.

    Those entries can be easily seen with or without Spybot installed if they remain via Internet Explorer's....Tools\Internet Options\Privacy tab....select the Edit button in bottom right area of the Web Sites section. You should then see all of the entries found by SpywareDoctor.
     
  15. JonPaulOnLine

    JonPaulOnLine Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2005
    Posts:
    96
    Location:
    Philadelphia PA USA
    JerryM

    Here is a confirmation

    I had the exact same "12 supposedly Block-Checker items...."
    and I also have the same anti-spyware/adware software

    and for the same reason as you - - - quote"I downloaded the free version of Spyware Doctor as an added layer of AS.
     
  16. rawr

    rawr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2005
    Posts:
    128
    Location:
    Illinois, U.S.A
    Just add the 12 items to your ignore list..
     
  17. JerryM

    JerryM Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2003
    Posts:
    4,221
    Jon,
    We got more layering that we bargained for. :D :D

    Jerry
     
  18. pctools

    pctools Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2004
    Posts:
    29
    Hi all,

    I am from PC Tools, maker of Spyware Doctor.

    Our latest update has resolved this issue with Block-Checker.

    If you are a registered customer, simply perform a Live Update within Spyware Doctor to ensure you have the latest update. Then perform a full scan and fix checked.

    However if you are using the free version, the updates are two versions behind. Please be patient as we have regular updates.

    Should you still have further problems with Spyware Doctor, you can also contact us directly at: http://www.pctools.com/contact/support/guide/spyware-doctor/

    Thank you.

    Regards,

    PC Tools
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.