Spyware Doctor 5.0 due to launch on Monday, Jan 29-2007.

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by ejr, Jan 27, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ejr

    ejr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2005
    Posts:
    538
    I am excited about this product. In speaking with them at the PC Tools forum, memory usage is down, the slow start up time has been fixed, and the scanning engine (which was already very good) has been improved, and the product is totally redesigned under the hood (though the gui will look much the same). They added some new guards. The updating function now does incremental updates.

    Sounds like they have improved upon an already very good product.
     
  2. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,006
    sounds good.
    seems another compamy have learned that people dont want a bloated product so they fixed it.
    can you post some screenshots of the resourse usage and gui when you install it?
    any idea when they update there website with infomation about the new guards?

    lets hope webroot follow suit and make spysweeper use less resourse to compete against spyware doctor.
    they have been rivals for quite a while and i hope spysweeper can have less crashs than it has now lol
    lodore
     
    Last edited: Jan 27, 2007
  3. cheater87

    cheater87 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2005
    Posts:
    3,125
    Location:
    Pennsylvania.
    Does it still have the detect and not remove thing going on.
     
  4. EliteKiller

    EliteKiller Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2007
    Posts:
    1,138
    Location:
    TX
    Are you referring to the free trial?
     
  5. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,006
    if he is then spsyweeper does it as well so it probaly does lol.
    lodore
     
  6. Legendkiller

    Legendkiller Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    Posts:
    1,052
    good to hear that...i have already forgotten spy-sweeper due to all the probs experienced by people here...
    spyware doctor has always been better and good to learn that it has improved further...
     
  7. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,006
    we; spysweeper 3.0/3.5 was good but after that down hill.

    i hope that the spyware doctor doesnt do the fp's in trial to fool people in to buying it thing then after you brought it it find nothing because it doesnt have the fp's lol.
    i dont think the reviews pick up on it because they use the paid version and not the trial version that dont remove
    lodore
     
  8. Legendkiller

    Legendkiller Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    Posts:
    1,052
    just paid a visit to pcmag.com and read the review of zass-7 and the reviewer was in complete awe of its anti-spyware....
    wonder if it really is?
     
  9. Vissionary

    Vissionary Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2007
    Posts:
    13
    zass-7? What anti-spyware is that... Because I thought this was on SD 5.
     
  10. cheater87

    cheater87 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2005
    Posts:
    3,125
    Location:
    Pennsylvania.
    I'm guessing Zone Alarm Security Suite version 7. o_O
     
  11. Legendkiller

    Legendkiller Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    Posts:
    1,052
    yup,if you check the review on their website(pcmag.com),it says zonealarm's antispyware has out done all anti-spyware apps in market...
     
  12. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,006
    its monday the 29th of january and i still see the infomation about 4.0 on there site and nothing about 5.0 features and no download link for the 5.0 version.
    any links would be useful.
    screenshots as well lol.
    lodore
     
  13. Legendkiller

    Legendkiller Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    Posts:
    1,052
    its tuesday now...maybe something has gone wrong somewhere..
     
  14. btman

    btman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2006
    Posts:
    576
    http://www.pctools.com/forum/showthread.php?t=44912

    From the SD forum. They are working on getting their firewall included in a full suite also! I'm excited.... And I must include... Their forum support is amazing... 1st reply 4 minutes... 2nd reply 2 minutes... lol.

    This beta is basically.. PC Tools Anti-Malware if you include the AV protection... And it's like ST... Where you can include the AV in scans... Or in scans and the realtime shield... Awesome... I can't wait to see this in AV comparatives lol.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jan 30, 2007
  15. Legendkiller

    Legendkiller Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    Posts:
    1,052

    Attached Files:

  16. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,006
    thanks legend killer!
    how is the amount of processes?
    and ram and cpu usage?
    any bugs so far?
    lodore
     
  17. Chubb

    Chubb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2005
    Posts:
    1,967
    So which AV engine is added to Spyware Doctor? I am curious!!! :D
     
  18. disinter1

    disinter1 Guest

    Superantispyware has that same spider logo! WHY?:eek: o_O
     
  19. btman

    btman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2006
    Posts:
    576
    For myself Spyware Doctor has 2 processes...
    SWDSVC.exe taking 8.1k
    SDtrayapp.exe takes .4k - 1k

    So yeah.. Not bad. Need to report it's false positives now lol. Haven't hit any bugs yet though.
     
  20. Legendkiller

    Legendkiller Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    Posts:
    1,052
    and both of them failed to install on my pc...so couldn't use the beta..:cautious:
     
  21. Menorcaman

    Menorcaman Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Posts:
    4,661
    Location:
    Menorca (Balearic Islands) Spain
    Just installed 5.0 Beta but SD still refuses to play with ZASS 7.0.320.000. Causes system reboot during install plus other problems. After uninstalling ZASS 7, SD 5 Beta installs and runs without a hitch. Problem flagged up in <PC Tools SD 5 Beta forum>.

    Regards
     
  22. screamer

    screamer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2006
    Posts:
    921
    Location:
    Big Apple USA
    Yeah, well it seems that PC Tools spent as much, maybe more... on marketing as they did on R&D.

    From the threads I've read, there are install / run issues w/ NOD32. Guard slows the box down to a crawl. It posts / broadcasts an ad for itself on Skype.
    I was told that mem usage will be 50MB during a scan and then settle in to 10MB. All in all, from what I've read, I'm going to wait and not jump into the frying pan. I just hope my SD 4.0 license doesn't run out before they get the app in usable shape.

    IMHO, it has the potential to be a killer app, it just needs some serious work. I had to cut loose SD 4.0 due to high memory usage and intolerable CPU drain. Let's hope they get it right this time around.

    ...screamer
     
  23. Legendkiller

    Legendkiller Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    Posts:
    1,052
    also,in my case,IMON failed to start with it....
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.