Spyware Definitions marked in red

Discussion in 'SpywareBlaster & Other Forum' started by Baldrick, Jan 30, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Baldrick

Baldrick Registered Member

Hi there :D

I am new to SpywareBlaster, having just installed it, and have noticed that there are a number of the spyware definitions (and all the cookie definitions) are marked in red/not automatically selected for protection when you press the Protect option. Why is that? o_O

Is it because it is better not to protect from these, that one should be careful protecting against these as they can cause trouble or should individual users make their own choice. As a newbie in this area I would be most grateful for any advice/guidance that forum members can provide. :D

Thank you in anticipation.

Best regards

Baldrick

2. Detox

Detox Retired Moderator

The red just means it's something SpywareBlaster can protect against but isn't protecting against it right now. If you select all and "protect against checked" then you're covered. Everytime you update the definitions, you will have more red unchecked items and will need to "select all" and "protect against checked."

3. Baldrick

Thanks Dettox

I think that I get the message that one should really check all definition. I am just intrigued as to the reason why SpywareBlaster choses to protect against some by default whilst leaving others up to user choice?

Any thoughts or explanation?

Just curious.

Regards

Baldrick

4. LowWaterMark

LowWaterMark Administrator

Hi Baldrick,

There could be a couple things going on here... First, if the first time you ran SpywareBlaster, some items were checked but most weren't, then that could be because you ran some other tool that provided some of the same protections, but not all. Such as the Immunize protection in Spybot S&D, or some other blocker software. SpywareBlaster does not set any items by default. If they are set already, then some other software set them.