spyware blaster & spybot

Discussion in 'SpywareBlaster & Other Forum' started by boombastik, Oct 25, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. boombastik

    boombastik Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2010
    Posts:
    211
    Location:
    Greece
    I use spywareblaster for above 2 years. Also i know that exist a similar immunization feature by spybot search & destroy. Can i use it also? Or it is overkill?

    Thnx
    Best,
    Boombastik
     
  2. Escalader

    Escalader Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2005
    Posts:
    3,710
    Location:
    Land of the Mooses

    The quick answers are yes you can use both and no it is not overkill these days on the www to have more than 1 security tool.

    Strongly suggest you read and study:

    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showpost.php?p=1538690&postcount=1

    In my view users need:

    1) a router with a FW
    2) a sw FW 2 way
    3) a strong AV

    Neither of the tools you mentioned are one of these 3.

    They are better than nothing , but you have some work to do.
     
  3. boombastik

    boombastik Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2010
    Posts:
    211
    Location:
    Greece
    1) hw firewall: airties with firewall+antidos
    2)sw: windows 7 firewall
    3) avast free+ immunet protect

    i also use malwaresbytes free(demand scan)
    spywareblaster(immunize)

    mozzila firefox with:wot+add block plus+ no script

    i would like to use also spybots immunize if it is compatible with spywareblaster.
    (i assume it is after ur post)

    soz for my english
    thnx for ur respond
    regards,
    Boombastik
     
  4. Escalader

    Escalader Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2005
    Posts:
    3,710
    Location:
    Land of the Mooses
    I think you are okay, IF your Windows 7 FW is properly set up to be two way and only allow access to those programs that absolutly need it.

    On Spybot, go ahead and load it, immunize and then un install it. The host entries should remain.
     
  5. Daveski17

    Daveski17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Posts:
    8,028
    Location:
    Lloegyr
    I use SpywareBlaster on my laptop & I have a lot of faith in it. I wouldn't recommend SpyBot on Vista/Win 7 though. I had a lot of problems with it & it let a trojan through once (that SUPERAntiSpyware caught). IMHO SpyBot is only one step away from being malware itself.
     
  6. boombastik

    boombastik Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2010
    Posts:
    211
    Location:
    Greece
    I will not use it as a scanner and also i didn't install teatimer and sdhelper.
    I will use it only as immunizer.
    Only i willl update i will immunize and that's all, i dont think this is bad when it is compatible with spywareblaster.
    I will have it in my hard disk only as a second immunizer.

    Best,
    Boombastik
     
  7. Daveski17

    Daveski17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Posts:
    8,028
    Location:
    Lloegyr
    @boombastik, That's probably wise. I just tried to update Spybot once & it went all Hal 9000 on me! :eek:

    I had a hard time uninstalling it & it left Teatimer behind (which I had not actually activated) & it tried to lock me out of my own computer. Eventually I managed to remove it by re-installing & uninstalling. A few months later I found the remnants of Teatimer in Software Explorer (Windows Defender).

    I think SpywareBlaster does as good an immunisation job on its own.
     
    Last edited: Oct 27, 2010
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.