Spyware Blaster Slowdowns

Discussion in 'SpywareBlaster & Other Forum' started by Johnny Bravo, Oct 23, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Johnny Bravo

    Johnny Bravo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2005
    Posts:
    6
    has anyone here been experiencing spywareblaster slow downs from download of protection to enabling the protections primarily with the IE restricted sites? basically whenever i open it, it takes a little longer to load then usual, then i check for updates, that hangs for a bit and sometimes times out, no big thing, could be servers busy or problems with javacool, not unheard of, but when a download does come though, for the restricted sites, it takes forever and a day to enabale the protections again only with the protection with the restricted sites. i tried the usual uninstall reinstall by way of disabling all protection, which by the way, the restricted sites took again forever and a day to unprotect, and uninstalled it, reinstalled it, same problems.....anyone o_O:eek:
     
    Last edited: Oct 23, 2005
  2. javacool

    javacool BrightFort Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Posts:
    3,997
    Hi,

    What other anti-virus, firewall, anti-spyware, or other security software do you have installed?

    It's possible that one of them is the culprit.

    Best regards,

    -Javacool
     
  3. Johnny Bravo

    Johnny Bravo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2005
    Posts:
    6
    system set i[ is as follows.....

    AVG AV
    Sygate FW
    Webreots Spysweeper v4.5
    A-squared
    Spybot S&D
    Ad-Aware SE
    Ewido (free version)
    CCleaner for temps etc....
    MVPS Hosts File
    IESPAD's


    recently had a problem with a surge knocking out my power supply, no other damage was detected, and spysweeper just updated to the recently above mentioned version.To mention this, all have played very well with each other until today after i downloaded the latest updates from SBo_O?

    Thank you for responding,;)
    -JB
     
    Last edited: Oct 23, 2005
  4. javacool

    javacool BrightFort Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Posts:
    3,997
    Hi,

    There is another thread about a potential SpySweeper problem that sounds very similar to what you are experiencing: https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=102176

    Have you tried disabling SpySweeper temporarily to see if that speeds up enabling your SpywareBlaster protection?

    Best regards,

    -Javacool
     
  5. Bubba

    Bubba Updates Team

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2002
    Posts:
    11,271
    I suggest you temporarily un-check IE Security Shield anytime you make changes with Spywareblasters Restricted sites protection or anytime you add sites via any other program or manually. That is the Shield that monitors additions to IE'S Domains key among other IE items. With that Shield checked and no others my normally snappy box slowed to a crawl while adding Restricted Sites....not only with Spywareblaster but other means.
     

    Attached Files:

  6. browndk26

    browndk26 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2004
    Posts:
    9
    Thanks for the tip Bubba. I had the same problem after I updated spysweeper to version 4.5.3. I was shutting it down completely though. I'm considering not renewing the program and using all free apps(Spybot, Ad-aware, etc).
     
  7. javacool

    javacool BrightFort Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Posts:
    3,997
    As a current customer of Webroot's, could you please send them a support ticket about this issue?

    Hopefully it's something they can and will fix, if enough customers report the problem.

    Best regards and thanks,

    -Javacool
     
  8. browndk26

    browndk26 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2004
    Posts:
    9
    I submitted a ticket as you asked. I'll let you know what the response is.
     
  9. Johnny Bravo

    Johnny Bravo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2005
    Posts:
    6
    I submitted a ticket to them yesterday and still no response, will inform you of the response, but will probably not hear from them anytime soon, as this version was to correct an issure with the hosts file....fingers crossed, and thank you all for the help, i well spread the word on this post haste thank you all.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.