Spyware Blaster ACTIVATION

Discussion in 'SpywareBlaster & Other Forum' started by davidlwhitley, Aug 31, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. davidlwhitley

    davidlwhitley Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2004
    Posts:
    2
    Location:
    Cincinnati, Martha's Vineyard, Gulf Shores, Miami
    I have been "using" SpywareBlaster for a few months but tracking cookies continue to appear in my Ad-Aware system scans. Spybot usually scans clean. I was wondering if SpywareBlaster was operating. Must I doubleclick it's Icon to load/activate the program before going online?

    Sincerely
    Dave o_O
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Aug 31, 2004
  2. snowbound

    snowbound Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2003
    Posts:
    8,723
    Location:
    The Big Smoke
    Hi davidlwhitley :)

    Welcome to Wilders.

    SpywareBlaster is not a running process so there is no need to click on anything.

    Explanation here,

    http://www.javacoolsoftware.info/kb/idx/0/005/article/

    What are the tracking cookies u are getting?

    I assume all your protection in SWB is enabled?


    snowbound
     
  3. davidlwhitley

    davidlwhitley Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2004
    Posts:
    2
    Location:
    Cincinnati, Martha's Vineyard, Gulf Shores, Miami
    Hi guy
    Thanks for the quick reply.

    The latest tracking cookie object was:

    obj[0]=File : c:\documents and settings\david\cookies\david@casalemedia[1].txt

    I have recently updated and run the scans after being online a few times and find no additional tracking cookies. Maybe I am now being covered.

    The above cookie was found by Ad-aware 6.0, not by Spybot.

    Best wishes
    David
     
  4. MikeBCda

    MikeBCda Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2004
    Posts:
    1,627
    Location:
    southern Ont. Canada
    Hi dlw (sorry, I'm getting old and lazy ;) ),

    Don't forget that AdAware, Spybot, and SpywareBlaster each has its own set of definitions, in each case set up by its own developer(s). While there's a great deal of overlap among them, it's also not that unusual for one of them to find something that got past one or both of the others. This could be because of defs that need updated, or it could even sometimes be simply a difference of opinion as to whether a particular item is worth worrying about.

    In any event, the mostly-but-not-entirely overlap is why it's useful to have and use all three to increase security by catching more "loose edges".

    Best,
    Mike
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.