Spyware Blaster 3.4 will not start

Discussion in 'SpywareBlaster & Other Forum' started by J Healy, May 16, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. J Healy

    J Healy Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2005
    Posts:
    2
    Spywareblaster 3.4 returns the following message:

    Spyware Blaster has caused an error in <unknown> Spywareblaster will now close. If you continue to experience problems try restarting your computer.
    (This doesn't work)

    I am using Windows ME, IE6 and Firefox - all updated via websites.

    Can anybody suggest a solution.

    Thanks,

    Joe
     
  2. javacool

    javacool BrightFort Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Posts:
    3,997
    Hi,

    Please try installing the Visual Basic 6.0 SP5 run-time:

    http://download.microsoft.com/download/vb60pro/Redist/sp5/WIN98Me/EN-US/vbrun60sp5.exe

    It sounds like a required support file may be corrupted, and the download above may fix that particular issue. :)

    Also, did any previous versions of the program work on that particular machine? If yes, what changes (other than updating SpywareBlaster) have you made since you last successfully ran a version of the program?

    Best regards,

    -Javacool
     
  3. Stephanos G.

    Stephanos G. Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2005
    Posts:
    720
    Location:
    Cyprus
    Which AV u use?
     
  4. J Healy

    J Healy Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2005
    Posts:
    2
    Problem solved by installing Visual Basic.

    Thank you very much.

    Joe
     
  5. javacool

    javacool BrightFort Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Posts:
    3,997
    Excellent - I'm glad to hear it. :)

    Best regards,

    -Javacool
     
  6. COSMO26

    COSMO26 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Posts:
    404
    Same issue happened to me today (9-09-05) so this post was a lifesaver. Thanks!
     
  7. smiler

    smiler Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2004
    Posts:
    30

    hi,what is Visual Basic 6.0 SP5 run-time?

    smiler
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.