SpyShelter 10

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by Mops21, Jul 30, 2015.

  1. puff-m-d

    puff-m-d Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    4,774
    Location:
    North Carolina, USA
    Hello,

    SpyShelter version 10.9.2 has been released.
    Homepage
    Download
    Blog
    Changelog
     
  2. Jerry666

    Jerry666 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2002
    Posts:
    115
  3. puff-m-d

    puff-m-d Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    4,774
    Location:
    North Carolina, USA
    Hello @Jerry666,

    You are most welcome ;) ...
     
  4. Cutting_Edgetech

    Cutting_Edgetech Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2006
    Posts:
    5,217
    Location:
    USA
    No, I just don't want to be alerted about a specific detection for a specific app. I get an AntiNetworkSpy Alert for Firefox every 3 seconds. The only way I can silence the alert without disabling the protection is by disabling the AntiNetoworkSpy Alert for all Apps. Then I want get the alert for any application that triggers the AntinetworkSpy module. I don't want to do that. I only want to silence the Alert for Firefox, and keep the protection enabled. The way it is setup I have to silence all Alerts for AntiNetworkSpy instead of only for firefox.
     
  5. Jerry666

    Jerry666 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2002
    Posts:
    115
    where is the antinetwork spy ? I can't find it
     
  6. ichito

    ichito Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2011
    Posts:
    1,592
    Location:
    Poland - Cracow
    As the standalone protection you can find it only in SS Premium version...in Firewall it's integrated into firewall module. If you want to exlude some specific processes from anti-network spy module...instead of disabling whole module...you find such option in "settings/security" tab - processes not monitored by AntiNetworkSpy module.
     
    Last edited: May 18, 2017
  7. Jerry666

    Jerry666 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2002
    Posts:
    115
    I have the paid firewall version , should I get premium ? Which has the most or best features ?
     
  8. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    9,473
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    OK I see, but there must be some other apps that's triggering this. Have you already figured out what causes this?

    SS Firewall has got more features, namely the firewall and process execution control. But I have disabled execution control because it's too annoying and there is no way to fine tune it.
     
  9. Jerry666

    Jerry666 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2002
    Posts:
    115
    Thanks Rasheed and Icito .
     
  10. Cutting_Edgetech

    Cutting_Edgetech Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2006
    Posts:
    5,217
    Location:
    USA
    No, I just assumed it was one of my browser plugins causing it. I use Ublock Origin, Flag Fox, NoScript, and Calomel SSL Validation.
     
  11. puff-m-d

    puff-m-d Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    4,774
    Location:
    North Carolina, USA
    Hello @Cutting_Edgetech,

    I have seen MBAE cause the AntiNetworkSpy alert in some apps. I do not use Firefox so I cannot answer if this is specifically your case or not. You can test it by exiting Firefox, disable Firefox protection temporarily in MBAE, and then starting Firefox to see if you still get the alert in SpyShelter.
    HTH ;) ...
     
  12. Cutting_Edgetech

    Cutting_Edgetech Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2006
    Posts:
    5,217
    Location:
    USA
    I just signed back into Wilders to post about that very discovery. I found this over at Malwarebytes forum just then. I bet it was the problem. I actually rolled my computer back already so I don't have Spyshelter installed at the moment to test this theory. I will see if that is the problem when I install SpyShelter again.
    https://forums.malwarebytes.com/topic/199049-problem-with-mbae-and-spyshelter/
     
  13. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    9,473
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    OK I see, apparently it was caused by MBAE. The thing is, when you get to see such an alert, it may be an indication that your infected with a banking trojan, so it's always worth to investigate it. It's one of the most interesting features of SS.
     
  14. Cutting_Edgetech

    Cutting_Edgetech Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2006
    Posts:
    5,217
    Location:
    USA
    I will check to confirm that was the problem soon.

    I would really like to see MBAE, and SS combined. A strong HIPS with Exploit protection should cover any possible attack method. MBAE combined with Eset would work out really well for me also. Exploit developers would focus more on bypassing MBAE though if it was integrated into a major AV.
     
  15. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    9,473
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Actually, it's now part of Malwarebytes v3, which is supposed to be a replacement for major AV's. But a separate HIPS + AE works better for me, if one fails the other can step in.
     
  16. Jerry666

    Jerry666 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2002
    Posts:
    115
    Agreed , those all in ones are not always a good choice
     
  17. Cutting_Edgetech

    Cutting_Edgetech Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2006
    Posts:
    5,217
    Location:
    USA
    Yeah, I was aware it was integrated into Malwarebytes v3, but some of the testers like myself still use the standalone version.
     
  18. ichito

    ichito Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2011
    Posts:
    1,592
    Location:
    Poland - Cracow
    I think it can be useful for working in real-time with SS other security app...MBAE also...to make exclusion in two places. It's because we usualy trust security apps and we want to avoid confilcts. So
    - first place is list of rules - we can here exclude any file we want/need or whole folder with all content...folder exclusion can be more useful because sometime actually we don't know how such app works and what is needed to proper work
    - second place is Keystroke Encryption module and Process Filter tab - in this place we can exclude processes of security apps from encryption. It's because encryption is an indepedent feature and is not connected with file/folder exclusion or trusted signers.
     
  19. Cutting_Edgetech

    Cutting_Edgetech Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2006
    Posts:
    5,217
    Location:
    USA
    It turns out that the conflict I experienced with SpyShelter AntiNetworkSpy Module is with Eset Internet Security 10. I tried uninstalling MBAE, and SS AntiNetworkSpy Module still alerted me every 2 to 3 seconds to Firefox. I then uninstalled Eset Internet Security 10, and all the alerts stopped immediately.

    Eset Internet Security has it's own Network protection Module which is part of the Firewall. Eset also injects into the browser for exploit protection. I think it's most likely Eset's Network Protection module causing the conflict.
     
  20. Cutting_Edgetech

    Cutting_Edgetech Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2006
    Posts:
    5,217
    Location:
    USA
    Btw.. Eset has IDS, and Botnet protection.
     
  21. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    9,473
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    This might indeed be the cause, so at least SS seems to be doing the job. Only Datpol can fix this problem, so it's best to report.
     
  22. Quassar

    Quassar Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2011
    Posts:
    80
    @Rasheed187
    I use whole few yers SS they respect your tickets and work to fix issue if you discover it.
    Since program exist they have abuut 12 fix tweeks by mine respond. mostly fixed after 1 hour after info them about issue.
     
  23. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    9,473
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Well, perhaps it depends on the issue, because they are not fixing everything. It's a good HIPS, but I'm a bit disappointed about the lack of innovation. I would be willing to pay for a better GUI and more robust protection.
     
  24. Quassar

    Quassar Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2011
    Posts:
    80
    GUI is fine and standalone SS.. i just wonder when they start improve firewall options..
    I want to have same log conection like in old school OA <3
     
  25. Daniel K

    Daniel K Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
    Posts:
    11
    +1 for log connection
     
Loading...