SpyBot update

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by tutankamon, Mar 9, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. tutankamon

    tutankamon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2003
    Posts:
    170
    Location:
    Lancashire U.K.
    Hi all,
    Itried to update Spybot today, but the 3 files to be downloaded would not download, I got an error message saying "Bad checksum" !!! Any one have the same?
     
  2. Shadowwar

    Shadowwar Spyware Expert

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2004
    Posts:
    305
    First i heard of it. Have you tried switching servers?
     
  3. ronny

    ronny Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2004
    Posts:
    231
    Location:
    Belgium
    Sometimes i get that also.Especially when too many people download the updates.
    I suppose,like Shadowwar said, try another server, for instance instead of "SpybotSD.de" use "EonAustralie".
    It worked when i did that.
     
  4. Tassie_Devils

    Tassie_Devils Global Moderator

    Joined:
    May 8, 2002
    Posts:
    2,514
    Location:
    State Queensland, Australia
    Yes, as ronny says.. the EON[Australia] site is very reliable.. never had a problem with it. It's the only one I use....

    also... FIRST you have to "check" for updates, THEN you can have the option of selecting a mirror site, BEFORE hitting the Download button ok.. :) [in case you did not know that ;) ]

    Cheers, Adrian
     
  5. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    I had it the other day, even when using the Australian Server, there ended up being only the USA Server that wasn't affected.

    Like Tassie_Devils said, in general have found that the Aussie Server seems to work best...

    Cheers :D
     
  6. marieelena

    marieelena Guest

    I have the same problem with Spybot updates; were you able to fix it??
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.