spybot search & destroy strange results...

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by klarm, Jul 12, 2017.

  1. klarm

    klarm Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2012
    Posts:
    31
    Location:
    europe
    Hi all.
    does anyone understands these results. first time I see this. ESET & Malwarebytes' Anti-Malware don't find anything and PC is working without problems. I didn't notice anything strange.
    this is older version v1.6.2 updated today.

    aaa.jpg

    thanks.
     
  2. gery

    gery Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2008
    Posts:
    1,941
    maybe false negatives
     
  3. klarm

    klarm Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2012
    Posts:
    31
    Location:
    europe
    but never seen these before and I run scan very often. also I didn't install nothing new for a long time.
    I tried the scan from safe mode also. same thing.
    only thing is everytime I run the scan I get different number of these entries. sometimes only a few and sometimes alot like on the pic.

    what else could I try? some other free/good program that could 100% confirm (yeah I'm paranoid) that I don't have one of these mentioned in the list?
     
  4. boredog

    boredog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2015
    Posts:
    2,499
  5. klarm

    klarm Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2012
    Posts:
    31
    Location:
    europe
    thank you for the link. I'll go thru it.
    maybe I should install spybot v2.x and try with it. I just hate the new version and the fact that I need to force it with autoruns not to run on startup.
     
  6. Bill_Bright

    Bill_Bright Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2007
    Posts:
    2,800
    Location:
    Nebraska, USA
    "Out of memory" errors would not suggest false positives. SB-S&D is not indicating it found malicious or suspicious code. It is saying there was an error during check.
    You already confirmed your system is clean with ESET and MBAM and your system is running fine. That suggests to me the problem is with SB-S&D. I don't see why you even need SB-S&D. I stopped using that way back in 2009 when I migrated away from XP and to W7.

    I found another link that suggests your Windows installation is corrupt. I think that is a bunch of bull - especially since it wants you to download and run their "Spybot Error During Check Out Of Memory Repair Tool". If me, I would uninstall SB-S&D, reboot, may sure Windows is fully updated and call it a day.

    If for some reason you think you need SB-S&D on top of ESET and MBAM (and again, I don't see why) then I would still uninstall it, reboot, and install the latest version again and see what happens.

    If you get out of memory errors while doing other things, then you might have other problems, but with only SB-S&D, the problem is with SB-S&D. The only other thing I might suggest is to make sure you have lots of free disk space on your drive. And if you dinked with your PF file settings, put them back to Windows managed.
     
  7. boombastik

    boombastik Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2010
    Posts:
    226
    Location:
    Greece
    Dont make the mistake and install version 2.
    It is full of bloats. It install background scan services ,plugins for web browsers, update services.
    And unistall is bad.
    The only version that is usable is only the old one that is only a scanner.
    Try to scan with combatibility mode : run as admin. Do u have same problem?
     
  8. klarm

    klarm Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2012
    Posts:
    31
    Location:
    europe
    I installed v2 on my other PC. I turned off all the resident crap inside and also blocked it from running on startup with autoruns. As I can see there are no running processes in task manager until I run it.
    Do you think this is ok or should I just delete it completely?

    which old version do you mean, v1.6.x or some newer one?

    I'll try compatibility mode on my v1.6.x and also to raise my page file cos I have a feeling this could be the problem.
    I'll update here...
     
  9. JEAM

    JEAM Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    Posts:
    310
    I'd been getting the same sorts of "out of memory" errors on my SS&D 1.6.2 for weeks.

    Then last night I ran another manual scan when there happened to be few applications open and RAM usage was slight. This time there were no "out of memory" errors. So I think it really was that it was running low on memory during that part of the scan, for whatever reason.
     
  10. daman1

    daman1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2009
    Posts:
    1,095
    Location:
    USA, MICHIGAN
    I agree dump Spybot if you're running those other two, that's pretty much a useless program anymore. :thumbd::thumbd:
     
  11. RockLobster

    RockLobster Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2007
    Posts:
    1,021
    win32.adload.jm is a trojan downloader and virtumonde, aka vundo is a trojan/worm/rootkit/possible ransomware.
    If I was you I would investigate further before dismissing it as an error.

    https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Vundo

    Use an online virus scanner or better still one hosted on a cd that scans before windows even boots up. Dont use one installed on Windows. Most of them are a complete waste of money. Every virus I ever had, disabled the AV I had installed in Windows, rendering it useless.
     
    Last edited: Aug 9, 2017
  12. klarm

    klarm Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2012
    Posts:
    31
    Location:
    europe
    how to use OS hosted on CD when using encrypted OS?
     
  13. RockLobster

    RockLobster Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2007
    Posts:
    1,021
  14. klarm

    klarm Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2012
    Posts:
    31
    Location:
    europe
    I don't think that's possible with TC. and even if it is, I think It would take a long time. probably better to reinstall everything which I can't do now.
    It's strange to me that everything works perfect and no other program for scanning can find anything.
     
  15. klarm

    klarm Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2012
    Posts:
    31
    Location:
    europe
    I tried installing zemana antimalware (trial) and all it finds are some strange files under C:\Windows\System32\Tasks.

    there are 19 of them and they look like this {74D35B0D-76BE-49BC-AD22-09064790446D}.
    the newest was created in 2016 so I don't think that this has to do with my supposed spyware detected in spybot.

    please advise should I quarantine of delete these? what are they?

    thanks.
     
Loading...