Spybot Issue

Discussion in 'ESET NOD32 Antivirus/Smart Security Beta' started by Hagla007, May 12, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Hagla007

    Hagla007 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Posts:
    49
    During the installation of Spybot Search & Destroy 2.0.3 beta, NOD32 detects some files as malware. Therefore, the installation can't complete. I had to disable the antivirus to be able to finish the installation.
     
  2. jasonblake7

    jasonblake7 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2008
    Posts:
    70
    IMO Spybot is not worth bothering about these days, there is so much better software out there.
     
  3. Hagla007

    Hagla007 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Posts:
    49
    That's your opinion. Myself, I'm not using the program. However, I have been a huge fan of the software since the old days. They just released a beta version, and I had to try it. And since it's a bug, which consider Eset, not Spybot, I think Eset have to fix it.
     
  4. JeremyW

    JeremyW Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2007
    Posts:
    86
    Location:
    Swindon, Wiltshire, UK
    +1 It's old school.
     
  5. pbmcmlxxi

    pbmcmlxxi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2006
    Posts:
    131
    Location:
    Hants, UK
    Sometimes old school works best. :)
     
  6. agoretsky

    agoretsky Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2006
    Posts:
    4,032
    Location:
    California
    Hello,

    Which files are detected and what are they detected as? Does this occur for you with v4.2 as well, or just the v5 beta?

    Regards,

    Aryeh Goretsky
     
  7. Hagla007

    Hagla007 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Posts:
    49
    Works fine with Nod32 4.2. I am not sure which files it is, or what Eset detected it as. I am quite busy these days(school,etc), so I will try to reproduce the issue, and see what file it was, and what Eset detected it as in some days.
     
  8. fadihu

    fadihu Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2008
    Posts:
    9
    like?
     
  9. KC4

    KC4 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2011
    Posts:
    15
    I quit using Spybot. I now use a combo of Malwarebytes and Superantispyware. I use the free versions. I scan about once a week. I'll use one and then next time use the other. They both play nice with my system. Win 7 64 sp1.
     
  10. siljaline

    siljaline Former Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2003
    Posts:
    6,619
    Your operating system is | Your Browser is | Other security software installed are | Were you running a previous version of SpyBot

    As the SpyBot Beta Forum would indicate, there are ongoing issues. You are encouraged to advise the nice folks at SpyBot of these issues at the cited link.

    As already asked, what files are being flagged ?

    Thanks.
     
  11. Hagla007

    Hagla007 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Posts:
    49
    Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit. Firefox 4. Eset Nod32 5 Beta. I didn't run a previous version of Spybot.

    I tried to reproduce the problem, but in a VM, and this time in XP. Unfortunately, I didn't get any pop-ups. The reason why I didn't tried to do it normally(not in a VM), was because I had some troubles with the combination of Spybot and Nod32. (The problem was not your fault, I uninstalled Spybot, and the reason was gone)
     
  12. siljaline

    siljaline Former Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2003
    Posts:
    6,619
    Thank you for the follow-up, it could be that the two Beta's don't, as we say in the security community, play well together. Perhaps as both progress things will change.

    Regards,
     
  13. Hagla007

    Hagla007 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Posts:
    49
    Hopefully. :)
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.