Spybot False Positive?

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by Rainwalker, Sep 1, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Rainwalker

    Rainwalker Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2003
    Posts:
    2,106
    Location:
    USA
    Is this another false positive?
    'Windows Security Internet Explorer'
     
  2. kdm31091

    kdm31091 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2006
    Posts:
    365
    Check for the information. I think it means you have IE configured in an insecure way.
     
  3. Bubba

    Bubba Updates Team

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2002
    Posts:
    11,271
    Without a portion of what the scan report is actually showing would be somewhat tough to advise but would it happen to be something similar to the below scan result ?

    If so....take a look at your Internet Explorer settings under....Tools > Internet Options > Advanced tab > Security section. See if any of the 3 below items are checked....in particular Allow active content to run in files on My Computer.
    • Allow active content from CDs to run on My Computer
    • Allow active content to run in files on My Computer
    • Allow software to run or install even if the signature is invalid
    If it's checked....un-check that item and see if it still shows up in a new scan.

    Bubba
     
  4. Rainwalker

    Rainwalker Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2003
    Posts:
    2,106
    Location:
    USA
    Greetings Bubba........when i did the scan and saw the results the first time, i had Spybot fix the problem. Later, after rebooting, i ran another spybot scan and it saw the problem again. Again i had Spybot fix the problem. It was at this point that i posted. After reading your post i checked IE and all was unchecked as you suggested. I then ran a third Spybot scan and it found nothing. All rather curious as i know that i have always had said boxes unchecked...........anywho, thanks for responding.
     
  5. The Saintlygent

    The Saintlygent Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2006
    Posts:
    6
    Rainwalker,
    On reading your post I felt i needed to mention about a similar problem with shows up after Spybot scan. ' windows antivirus notification disable dword=0'

    this keeps coming up almost every time i run the spybot scan...

    cheers
    The Saintlygent
     
  6. kdm31091

    kdm31091 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2006
    Posts:
    365
    It means you've disabled Windows Security Center notifying you about your anti-virus status.

    Either enable the notification, or right click the entry and select "Exclude from future scans".

    This is not malware, just a setting you don't have configured to Spybot's liking.
     
  7. Rainwalker

    Rainwalker Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2003
    Posts:
    2,106
    Location:
    USA
    Thanks all ...
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.