SPYBOT does not update

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by bodhisattva, Sep 24, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. bodhisattva

    bodhisattva Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2004
    Posts:
    7
    When I try to update SpyBot it tells me there are no updates. But I know there are because I have a friend who notifies me every time there is an update available.

    Is it possible that SpywareBlaster is blocking updates?

    Thanks.
     
  2. Detox

    Detox Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    8,507
    Location:
    Texas, USA
    No, SWB won't block Spybot updates. Have you tried setting Spybot to use a different update server?
     
  3. Hans 01

    Hans 01 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2003
    Posts:
    49
    I had the same problem. Spybot didn't provide updates because they had gone to a new version (for which they provide updates).
    Check that your version is the latest one available. Mine is 1.3, but I don't know if that's the latest one.
    / H
     
  4. HandsOff

    HandsOff Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2003
    Posts:
    1,946
    Location:
    Bay Area, California
    ...along those lines, i had the same problem when i was using the old 1.2 beta version. The alpha version worked fine.

    now i use the 1.31 beta version. Hey, if it doesn't work I will reinstall the 1.3 alpha version. you may want to try a reinstall if you have not.

    -HandsOff
     
  5. bodhisattva

    bodhisattva Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2004
    Posts:
    7
    My version is 1.2. That explains it. Thanks everyone. :)
     
  6. Detox

    Detox Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    8,507
    Location:
    Texas, USA
    Let us know how the upgrade to 1.3 goes - and if there are any further questions/issues!
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.