spybot chewing 100% cpu?

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by bigbuck, Sep 29, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. bigbuck

    bigbuck Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2004
    Posts:
    4,877
    Location:
    Qld, Aus
    Computer seemed fairly sluggish tonight. P4, 2.66, 512. Xp Sp2 + NAV + adaware + Spybot...all up to date.

    Ran all the scans and came up clean (even an online Panda AV and Online Trojan scan)...clean.

    Mainly the cpu seemed to be running quite high. With only Wilders open in Firefox and scanning with spybot at the same time cpu was 100%........why is this so high ?

    Any advice would be appreciated?
    Thanks,
    Buck
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Sep 29, 2004
  2. Don Pelotas

    Don Pelotas Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2004
    Posts:
    2,257
    Hi Buck

    This is normal, lots of scanners use the cpu close to 100%, Kaspersky and TDS-3 does it too. :)

    Regards
     
  3. bigbuck

    bigbuck Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2004
    Posts:
    4,877
    Location:
    Qld, Aus
    Yeah thanks...I got TDS running now and using plenty of CPU....but I still think the whole system seems a lot more sluggish than it was during the day.
    I emptied prefetch and will defrag later..but I defrag regularly anyway...so it probably won't make much difference.
    Any other ideas?

    Thanks,
    Buck
     
  4. Infinity

    Infinity Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    2,651
  5. zcv

    zcv Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2002
    Posts:
    355
    Hello BigBuck,

    What have you got the Scan Priority set at in Settings?

    Regards - Charles
     
  6. bigbuck

    bigbuck Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2004
    Posts:
    4,877
    Location:
    Qld, Aus
    Set to Normal.
     
  7. bigbuck

    bigbuck Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2004
    Posts:
    4,877
    Location:
    Qld, Aus
    Thanks anyway guys..........did a fresh reinstall this afternoon.......if that don't fix it, nothing will.
    It's good to give the ol' system a good clean out.

    Consider this one closed,

    Thanks,

    Buck.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.