Spyblaster won't run

Discussion in 'SpywareBlaster & Other Forum' started by ajspy, Jan 19, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ajspy

    ajspy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2004
    Posts:
    5
    I downloaded the program and the dll's from ms
    website but still won't run - neither will spy bot or
    ad-aware. Help - any suggestions?
     
  2. LowWaterMark

    LowWaterMark Administrator

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2002
    Posts:
    17,877
    Location:
    New England
    Well can you explain the problem in more detail? What exactly does it do? Are there any errors? Have you checked for the processes running after trying to open any of these applications?
     
  3. ajspy

    ajspy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2004
    Posts:
    5
    The intro screen flashes and then
    disappears. I don't get any error
    messages. I've checked the processes
    running but don't see anything unordinary -
    thankyou
     
  4. javacool

    javacool BrightFort Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Posts:
    3,997
    That doesn't sound good - if none of those anti-spyware apps are running (and you don't receive any error message), you may have something that is purposefully preventing them from doing so. :doubt:

    Have you tried following the HijackThis instructions here? If not, and if the program runs, could you post a log?

    Or are you receiving the same error message when trying to run each of those apps?

    Thanks!

    -Javacool
     
  5. javacool

    javacool BrightFort Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Posts:
    3,997
    Uh oh - it definitely sounds like something may be purposefully shutting the application down. :eek:

    Could you please try following the HijackThis instructions here and post a log? Thanks!

    (If HijackThis closes quickly in a simlar manner please let us know.)

    -Javacool
     
  6. javacool

    javacool BrightFort Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Posts:
    3,997
    One more quick question - in the event that HijackThis seems to automatically close (which may be very likely), what version of Windows are you running?

    Thanks,

    -Javacool
     
  7. ajspy

    ajspy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2004
    Posts:
    5
    I just tried to run hijack.exe but I can't
    what could i be doing wrong? I downloaded it
    but receive an error message that cannot run
    hijack.exe.o_Oo_O??
     
  8. ajspy

    ajspy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2004
    Posts:
    5
    I am running XP Pro - thanks
     
  9. javacool

    javacool BrightFort Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Posts:
    3,997
    Could you please do the following:

    -Close all Internet Explorer windows.
    -Press CTRL+ALT+DEL to open the Task Manager.
    -Click on the "Processes" tab.
    -Look for a process with the name "directx.exe" and/or "iexplorer.exe". If you find those processes, press the "End Task" button to terminate them.

    Let me know if you find those processes, and if you can terminate them.

    Thanks!

    -Javacool
     
  10. ajspy

    ajspy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2004
    Posts:
    5
    I did not find either of those processes
     
  11. Dan Perez

    Dan Perez Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    May 18, 2003
    Posts:
    1,495
    Location:
    Sunny San Diego
    Can you please download and run DCS's AutostartViewer from

    http://www.diamondcs.com.au/downloads/asviewer.zip

    Go to the "Main" menu and make sure that all three top options are selected and then press "Save" and then copy & paste the results here for us to review.

    Thanks
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.