spyblaster information

Discussion in 'SpywareBlaster & Other Forum' started by Nan, Apr 6, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Nan

Nan Registered Member

Hi, could someone tell me where I can find more information on how spyblaster works. I have just downloaded it but have no idea if it is working. Does it have a log file, do I have to do anything when I connect to the Internet. I would like to know how to operate it and exactly what it does. I have a shortcut on desktop and when I go into it, it starts up, is this right.As you can see I am no expert lol. Any information would be appreciated.
    Regards
    Nan o_O

2. Erik Ayala

Erik Ayala Guest

Alright kid let me help you out. First off you want to make sure the program is up to date so when you open the program at the very bottom it says "Download Latest Protection Updates." Then click "Enable Protection" for either Internet Explorer or Restricted Sites or whatever combination you want. Then close the program. That's it. It uses kill-bits in the Windows registry to block those "bad" programs from installing on your machine so it does NOT have to remain open for it to work. It won't give you any confirmation as to whether it's working or not my best advice is to download a spyware cleaner such as Spybot or Ad-Aware and run it periodically to see if it's keeping your system clean of malicious programs.

3. Nan

Nan Registered Member

Hi Erik, thank you for helping me out. Do I have to click on the Desktop Icon to start spyblaster everytime I go on the Internet? (2) My daughter downloaded spyblaster she has (Windows 98se) and got cranky because her computer was so slow after downloading, was having problems, I to have Windows 98se but have not had problems. I suppose because you cannot see anything what spyblaster is doing, you wonder if it is working, does it not show you anything at all?.I have spybot 1.2. scan all the time. Hope to hear from you again and thank you.
    Regards
    Nan