Spy Sweeper

Discussion in 'NOD32 version 2 Forum' started by Logan5, Oct 17, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Logan5

    Logan5 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Posts:
    116
    Location:
    Ohio, USA
    Hi,

    I was trying to update Spy Sweeper and after getting the latest build and trying to install, NOD32 came up with a threat (I hope my attachment works).

    Has anyone else had this issue and also how do I send it in to ESET? I am not sure where to find it to send it in. And in the Threat Log it states NOD32 has (under Action) quarantined and deleted.

    Thanks
    Logan
     

    Attached Files:

  2. oldshep

    oldshep Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2006
    Posts:
    139

    Check out this thread - in particular, post #12 by SoCalReviews.

    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=188109

    It appears that SS has added a toolbar to their anti-spyware program. Makes me feel I made the right choice when I deleted it from my machines after 4 years of use.
     
  3. Logan5

    Logan5 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Posts:
    116
    Location:
    Ohio, USA
    oldshep,

    Hey thanks for the reply, that answered my question. Looks like I will not be renewing for another year.

    Thanks again,

    Logan
     
  4. webyourbusiness

    webyourbusiness Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2004
    Posts:
    2,640
    Location:
    Throughout the USA and Canada
    IMO, that's a good decision Logan5!
     
  5. SoCalReviews

    SoCalReviews Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2006
    Posts:
    282
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    WR now appears to be playing the Trojan horse adware/toolbar game. :thumbd::mad: They hide it from you by default during the SS application installation and try to sneak it onto your machine. :( The upside is that these adware-:ninja:-double agents are being caught red handed by NOD32. :D:thumb:
     
    Last edited: Oct 19, 2007
  6. fosl

    fosl Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2007
    Posts:
    54
    I upgraded to ss version 103 on two different computers. The windows xp computer with trend micro av asked me if I wanted to install the toolbar. I unchecked the two prechecked boxes and continued with the installation. On my other computer, windows vista with NOD32, ss never offered the toobars. I never got the installation box offering webroot toolbars. Installation went good and NOD32 has not detected anything that I am aware of. I wonder why ss didnt offer the toolbars on the vista computer? Did it just install them without even offering me a chance to untick the two prechecked boxed like it did on the first compter? And if it did install these toolbars, where are they??
     
  7. kjempen

    kjempen Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2004
    Posts:
    379
    Why is there a toolbar bundled with Spy Sweeper? o_O
     
  8. SoCalReviews

    SoCalReviews Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2006
    Posts:
    282
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    ...If you can't beat 'em...join 'em? :cool:
     
  9. SoCalReviews

    SoCalReviews Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2006
    Posts:
    282
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    Make sure under AMON setup options you have ALL the ThreatSense Scanning Engine options ticked-on...especially the Adware/Spyware/Riskware, potentially unwanted applications and potentially unsafe applications.
     
  10. ASpace

    ASpace Guest


    Simply trust NOD32 :thumb:

    If ThreatSense.NET is enabled , NOD32 will automatically send it to ESET Threat Labs
     
  11. SoCalReviews

    SoCalReviews Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2006
    Posts:
    282
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    I'm not sure we need the ESET labs analysis to convince us that SS is a threat. I have had my suspicions long before this latest incident. ;)
     
  12. DooGie

    DooGie Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2006
    Posts:
    112
    Going slightly off topic you get the same alert when installing Nero 8 due to the Ask toolbar being a part of the setup.
     
  13. SystemJunkie

    SystemJunkie Resident Conspiracy Theorist

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2006
    Posts:
    1,500
    Location:
    Germany
    lol.. thats the sheep method not the wolf .. :D

    Spy Sweeper, hm, very slow thing I guess, when it has finished the scan you computer is probably already completely destroyed in case of serious infections..

    then we have the kernel hooks that slows the whole thing even more down then Klif.sys...:D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D
     
  14. Bubba

    Bubba Updates Team

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2002
    Posts:
    11,271
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.