Spy Sweeper with AntiVirus is now Webroot AntiVirus with AntiSpyware & Firewall.

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by Chubb, Oct 12, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Chubb

    Chubb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2005
    Posts:
    1,967
  2. mrhero

    mrhero Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2005
    Posts:
    297
    Location:
    Ankara , Turkey
  3. fcukdat

    fcukdat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2005
    Posts:
    569
    Location:
    England,UK
    You missed the part about +IAC toolbar by default unless desselected during installation:gack:
     
  4. tec505

    tec505 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2006
    Posts:
    284
    Location:
    Romulus, class M planet
    Is an internal developped fwl? "http://www.webroot.com/consumer/products/desktopfirewall/index.html?WRSID=9a4e4330c0a1135130e0b86b30f573fc"

    Mike
     
  5. Escalader

    Escalader Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2005
    Posts:
    3,710
    Location:
    Land of the Mooses
    All I will tell this thread, is that I had the Webroot's FW as a standalone package with SS + AV.

    My system became unstable the FW was ineffective and I returned the package to the store and got my $ back.:D
     
  6. ccsito

    ccsito Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2006
    Posts:
    1,579
    Location:
    Nation's Capital
    I also saw a promo at a local office supply store that offered a full refund for buying the Webroot FW package. I thought for one second about buying it, but then recalled that I never heard of that firewall software mentioned in any reviews. So I passed on it. :)
     
  7. Chubb

    Chubb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2005
    Posts:
    1,967
    Thanks for the tip.

    Webroot....Sigh....:isay:
     
  8. Chubb

    Chubb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2005
    Posts:
    1,967
    Spy Sweeper is now updated to 5.5.7.103.
     
  9. Perman

    Perman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2005
    Posts:
    2,160
    Hi, folks: Spysweeper at least has a corporate fan in Canada, Future Shop( I assume all stores) are geared up to prompt it and install it for a fee. yes at computer service counter. Do these people know something that we at Wilders do not , or else? Let me wonder that money does talk and talks very loudly. :D
     
  10. Zombini

    Zombini Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2006
    Posts:
    469
    Webroot is past their prime. They capitalized on the Spyware craze. Now that has subsided and all the stalwarts like Norton hav reasserted their dominant market position, Webroot is looking to make another bang.
     
  11. HAN

    HAN Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2005
    Posts:
    2,080
    Location:
    USA
    I agree. IMO, their days are numbered...
     
  12. SoCalReviews

    SoCalReviews Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2006
    Posts:
    282
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    I have SS 5.5.7.x AS version w/o the optional AV installed on secondary machine and when I downloaded and installed the latest update NOD32 AV detected a type of "browser adware/toolbar". I wonder if that is what you are referring to as the "+IAC toobar". I am pretty sure that it came from the SS installation because the NOD32 detection happened immediately after installing the SS update and immediately after rebooting the machine. I had problems with the latest SS 5.5.7.x update causing extremely slow boot time and appeared to lock up the system. The SS update could also be conflicting with other security software like NOD32. Neverless, I had to pull the power chord, restart the machine, reboot in safe mode and uncheck the SS program's auto startup option. The slow boot and lockup problems went away after I disabled SS. I certainly hope there are some rational explanations from WR for these issues with their latest SS update. The one positive is that I have a continued confidence in NOD32's detection abilities including its PUP detections.

    IMPORTANT UPDATE NOTE: I just reviewed some of the previous posts and YES it is the "ASK TOOLBAR" that NOD32 detected! One of the several files in question was called "askBarSetup.exe". It was submitted to ESET for analysis. I think it deserves to remain as a PUP detection and not a FP detection! I hope all the other malware programs keep flagging it for what it is...a "browser adware/toolbar". Hmmm....What is going on with WR and SS? A browser adware/toolbar is installed by default? Thankfully I have had SS disabled on my main system for a while but now it might be time to do a complete uninstall of SS.
     
    Last edited: Oct 17, 2007
  13. midway40

    midway40 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Posts:
    1,257
    Location:
    SW MS, USA
    My SysAdmin at work gave me an extra copy of SS (he had ordered too many) earlier this year. It didn't stay on my computer but just a couple of days because of the sluggishness. You are better off with SAS than this.

    Unfortunately even Symantec has joined the toolbar bandwagon. I was surprised when I was installing NIS '08 that it was offering a Yahoo/Symantec toolbar :(
     
  14. SoCalReviews

    SoCalReviews Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2006
    Posts:
    282
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    SAS looks like the way to go. I had been hoping that the problems would get ironed out in the later SS 5.x versions but the issues now seem to be getting worse instead of better. It's too bad because SS was once at the top of its class for ASW programs.
     
  15. tec505

    tec505 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2006
    Posts:
    284
    Location:
    Romulus, class M planet
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.