Spy Sweeper new build 5.0.7.1608 now available

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by Chubb, Aug 7, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Chubb

    Chubb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2005
    Posts:
    1,967
    Spy Sweeper new build 5.0.7.1608 now available

    But changelog is not yet available.
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Aug 7, 2006
  2. pykko

    pykko Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Posts:
    2,236
    Location:
    Romania...and walking to heaven
    thx for info Chubb! Do they give free-licenses? :D :D
     
  3. Chubb

    Chubb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2005
    Posts:
    1,967
    They won't give free licenses, I think :p but you can get USD10 off by using the discount code ISCSPY for new purchases :D :

    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=124500

    The discount code is still valid as of today. But people maybe afraid of using SS even if it is free now, after experiencing the freezes and lockups in the initial 5.0 release. So far, I don't have freezes and lockups in using 5.0.
     
  4. pykko

    pykko Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Posts:
    2,236
    Location:
    Romania...and walking to heaven
    thx for the tip Chubb! I'll try the trial first. :)
     
  5. Metting

    Metting Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Posts:
    100
    What' new?



    Webroot always ignore these magic words "What's new" !!

    Did they change their happit this time? I couldn't find any magic words in their website.
     
  6. Chubb

    Chubb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2005
    Posts:
    1,967
    I submitted a ticket last week suggesting that they create a changelog for the coming new build, similar to the release notes for the beta. They thank me for the input and told me that they will inform me when the new build is available. However, I didn't receive any further reply as of today. I think it is their general practice not to disclose changes between new builds.
     
  7. Metting

    Metting Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Posts:
    100
    What a lucky man ,WOW you got a reply and thank you from Webroot customer support, I guess you got a reply because you didn't ask any technical question.

    Others have asked technical questions since spysweeper 2 and still waiting for a solution or even a reply o_O
     
  8. Chubb

    Chubb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2005
    Posts:
    1,967
    I usually get quick replies, even for technical questions, for the 4.X series and for the 5.0 beta, but I think the the volume of tickets they receive have increased tremendously following the release of 5.0 final and I started to get slower reply now.
     
  9. SG1

    SG1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2003
    Posts:
    430
    a) RE new build: lest I do this wrong, can one just install new build on old one or, worse yet, do you have to uninstall current ver? I really like the apps that just let you slap new over old, and get on with it.

    b) And maybe I did something wrong here, but with current ver of SS isn't it supposed to start, minimized to Tray, I think? SS alone pops up big/ugly, full open each time. (The GUI's ugly, with lots of wasted white space etc., IMO).

    Thanks, SG1 (Pat)
     
  10. lagerstedt

    lagerstedt Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    33
    I have a license for Spy Sweeper 5 and I just tried to download it using the built in function. All that happened was that my computer froze, CPU usage 100 per cent and nothing happened. And that infuriating browser window did not show the new version. All i did was blocking the view.

    This is the final straw. I am removing version 5 going back to 4.5 while I look for a replacement. My licens does not lapse until March 2007, but I have had enough now.
     
  11. Metting

    Metting Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Posts:
    100
    A- If you have any version before 5 you should uninstall it first then reboot then install the latest version, otherwise you'll face a lot of problems.

    If you have ver 5 you can go to install on the old build, the new build will close the old one for you and install it self over it.

    B- If you meant the first version of 5 when said "current version" you can expect all kinds of errors, hangups, BSD's, minimized starting, maximized starting and every kind of errors you may imagine. no one know how to resolve or even why those wired things happen. It is the secret formula of webroot.
     
  12. as1m

    as1m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Posts:
    23
    Just a question.

    In this new build, is there a shield which has been ommited? The reason I say is 'cause in the 5.0.5 it showed "13 of 13 recommended shields are on", and after I installed this new build it says "12 of 12 recommended shields are on".

    I may be wrong so please forgive my ignorance.
     
  13. Mongol

    Mongol Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2004
    Posts:
    1,581
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    I got tired of these buggy and resource heavy spyware programs and went to Online Armor. I have never looked back. Never had a bit of spyware/malware install since. I am trialing there version with built in antivirus using the KAV engine right now. Online Armor basic will secure your computer very-very well. Give them a look & see, their support is second to none...www.tallemu.com
     
  14. SIR****TMG

    SIR****TMG Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    757
    yes there was 13 of 13 shields...one is gone
     
  15. Longboard

    Longboard Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2004
    Posts:
    3,187
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    I'm afraid to say this is a buggy app.
    The V5 series are screwing users left right and centre:

    Multiple conflicts with multiple AV and Firewalls
    System slow downs
    BSOD
    ........

    There arethousands of posts all over theplace about V5
    Many of these bugs were reported in the beta test phase and just not corrected.
    Webroot has caused a lot of ill will for itself.
    You know how hard it is to go back to any software which has burned you>

    Be careful, dont delete your V4.5exe yet.
    Regards.
     
  16. SG1

    SG1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2003
    Posts:
    430
    And speaking of stupid app tricks... seems the new ver of SS will not start and min. to SysTray as the parameter for it states; the app opens, big and ugly as usual. Stays there, 'til I have to hit upper left X on the app.

    And how many of us will be renewing SS?

    Along with Longboard, and others, I'm thinking it may be time to look for a replacement app for this one. Doh.
     
  17. Acadia

    Acadia Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2002
    Posts:
    4,048
    Location:
    SouthCentral PA
    My new version does not do this, it behaves like the old version did: minimizes to the tray. o_O

    Acadia
     
  18. as1m

    as1m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Posts:
    23
    Hi.

    To be fair to webroot I never really had a problem with version 5, even the old 5.0.5 build. The only issue I had with the previous 5 build was the deletion of Azureus.exe. For some reason Spysweeper did not want that on the machine. Even when I restored it from quarantine, on the next reboot, spysweeper was deleting it before even windows was loaded (early sweep function). Nothing else was a problem.

    This is fixed in the latest build and I can now keep azureus on my machine.

    Also I worked out what the missing shield was. There isnt a missing shield. The keylogger shield is now not a "recomended" shield and so if it is causing problems, u can disable it. By it being not recomended, users will not feel they are missing something, whereas previousley the user might feel a bit disgruntled that a recommended shield does not work or has to be disabled.

    Thanks.
     
  19. Birdman

    Birdman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2003
    Posts:
    571
    Anyone noticed any scanning SLOWDOWN with this latest version?

    Previously it took about 25 minutes to scan my processes, registry + files/folders. The SAME EXACT scan now takes well over an hour with this last build. :thumbd:
     
  20. Chamlin

    Chamlin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2006
    Posts:
    449
    Just updated Spysweeper 5.05 to 5.07, or should I say TRIED. Froze in the middle. Had to reboot. Now, can't launch 5.05, popup says, reinstall, but can't because I can't uninstall due to the uninstall file corrupted. Emailed webroot support. We'll see.
     
  21. Ranger Bob

    Ranger Bob Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2002
    Posts:
    53
    Location:
    Florida
    Yes. It took me over 3 hours to do my last scan. The same scan in 4.5 took about 1 1/2 hours.
     
  22. Don Pelotas

    Don Pelotas Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2004
    Posts:
    2,257
    For me it's the opposite, a scan with 4.5 used to take a longtime, even longer than any AV, with 5.0 it only takes a few minutes with all scan options on.
     
  23. Acadia

    Acadia Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2002
    Posts:
    4,048
    Location:
    SouthCentral PA
    Scanning time also shorter for me. I only do the Smart Scan, and it went from 8 minutes down to 2.

    Acadia
     
  24. Chamlin

    Chamlin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2006
    Posts:
    449
    Spy Sweeper helped resolve my 5.05 to 5.07 freezing issue.

    1. Gave me a SS cleanup utility
    http://support.webroot.com/ics/supp...74876e12ddcba1cff0b7&accountID=693&deptID=776

    2. Then I had to reinstall 5.07. Worked fine.

    3. I'm noticing it is making my system nearly as sluggish. My first sweep scan with all options on took:

    Desktop: 33 minutes (using 40GB of my 80GB drive)
    Items Inspected:
    Memory: 1533
    Registry: 97,975
    Cookies: 52
    Files/Folders: 138,878

    Laptop: 26 minutes
    Items Inspected:
    Memory: 1823
    Registry: 83,218
    Cookies: 35
    Files/Folders: 67,031
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.