spot the error

Discussion in 'ESET NOD32 v3 Beta Forum' started by Kil, May 11, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Kil

    Kil Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2004
    Posts:
    8
    Location:
    Jersey
    Reinstalling didn't help. I think I'm going to have to uninstall, erase all registry entries and reinstall.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    Hi Kil, welcome to Wilders.

    Please download a FRESH copy of Nod32 from www.nod32.com

    Uninstall your current version.

    Remove the Eset Folder from C Drive> Program Files.

    Install the FRESH copy of Nod32 that you downloaded above.

    Let us know how you go…

    Cheers :D
     
  3. Kil

    Kil Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2004
    Posts:
    8
    Location:
    Jersey
    I think I have the freshest version, tho. I tried un/and/reinstalling, but it doesn't help. And I can't figure out how to use that nonod32.reg file. How do you run it?


    Details:

    NOD32 antivirus system information
    Virus signature database version: 1.1093 (20050511)
    Dated: Wednesday, May 11, 2005
    Virus signature database build: 5592

    Information on other scanner support parts
    Advanced heuristics module version: 1.013 (20050303)
    Advanced heuristics module build: 1078
    Internet filter version: 1.002 (20040708 )
    Internet filter build: 1013
    Archive support module version: 1.030 (20050419)
    Archive support module build version: 1117

    Information about installed components
    NOD32 For Windows NT/2000/XP/2003 - Base
    Version: 2.50.9 Beta
    NOD32 For Windows NT/2000/XP/2003 - Internet support
    Version: 2.50.9 Beta
    NOD32 for Windows NT/2000/XP/2003 - Standard component
    Version: 2.50.9 Beta

    Operating system information
    Platform: Windows XP
    Version: 5.1.2600 Service Pack 2
    Version of common control components: 5.82.2900
    RAM: 511 MB
    Processor: Intel(R) Pentium(R) 4 CPU 2.40GHz (2386 MHz)
     
  4. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    Are you trying a custom install or a typical install?

    Cheers :D
     
  5. Kil

    Kil Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2004
    Posts:
    8
    Location:
    Jersey
    I'm trying to uninstall it properly first by erasing the eset folder and clearing the registry of the program. Then I always custom install since I know what I'm doing. Besides, I doubt there is a way to disable the installation of Nod32. It's the main component.

    Up to this point, it has shown to be a fruitless endeavor. I think I'll just wait for the final 2.5 version to be released so I can install that instead of the beta.
     
  6. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    Can you please try an installation over the top of what you have, then uninstall through add and remove programs.

    You haven't password protected Nod have you?

    Basically there isn't much to registry clean with Nod32, simply uninstalling and removing the Eset folder is suffice.

    Cheers :D
     
  7. Kil

    Kil Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2004
    Posts:
    8
    Location:
    Jersey
    eh. the typical install worked.

    i didn't want to do it initially because i didn't want the splash screen, nor the context menu integration.

    but i'm happy i got my Nod back.

    thanks, Blackspear.
     
  8. Stephanos G.

    Stephanos G. Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2005
    Posts:
    720
    Location:
    Cyprus
    U can find an option regarding the splash screen
     
  9. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    Good to see. I've only ever installed "Typical", everything else can be adjusted afterwards ;) :D


    My pleasure...

    Cheers :D
     
  10. Kil

    Kil Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2004
    Posts:
    8
    Location:
    Jersey
    Yeah, I know.

    But I prefer to custom install everything since some programs are set by default to install components not all users need (extras). It's a way of installing that I've become used to.
     
  11. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    I'm the same, just not with Nod32 ;) :D

    Cheers :D
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.