Speedy Splash Screen

Discussion in 'ESET Smart Security' started by surfer1000, Jul 9, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. surfer1000

    surfer1000 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2009
    Posts:
    66
    Location:
    UK
    I've noticed that since i've upgraded to the latest release, the Eset splash screen on my XP Pro 32bit system is now gone in the blink of an eye at start up, so fast its impossible to read it.

    This does not appear any faster on my Vista 32bit system.

    Anyone else noticed this ?
     
  2. JasSolo

    JasSolo Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2007
    Posts:
    414
    Location:
    Denmark
    Yep, I've noticed it as well. I'm running Win7.


    Cheers
     
  3. PaulB2005

    PaulB2005 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2005
    Posts:
    525
    Huh. Not that long ago people complained it took too long.....
     
  4. surfer1000

    surfer1000 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2009
    Posts:
    66
    Location:
    UK
    Huh. Well those people should turn it off then!
     
  5. siljaline

    siljaline Former Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2003
    Posts:
    6,619
    The Splash Screen on my XP Pro SP3 box runs about 5 seconds.
    That is fairly quick, though I had not had it configured to display previously.

     
  6. JasSolo

    JasSolo Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2007
    Posts:
    414
    Location:
    Denmark
    I'm not complaining, just informing. If I don't want the splash screen, I just disable it through settings.


    Cheers
     
  7. siljaline

    siljaline Former Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2003
    Posts:
    6,619
    Are we all on the same page here (or) is there an issue that needs to be conveyed to ESET regarding the Splash Screen

    I find an approximate ~ 5 second time-out is reasonable, for those that would like the time-out extended, a future feature request could be requested.

    Regards,
     
  8. surfer1000

    surfer1000 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2009
    Posts:
    66
    Location:
    UK
    It used to be about 5 seconds on my system until i installed the latest build, now its more like 1 second!

    Not very useful now at its present speed
     
  9. Maped

    Maped Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2010
    Posts:
    2
    The splash screen has quickened after the upgrade.

    I have a question though: what is the difference between 4.2.58.(0)/(3)/(4)/(5)?

    I believe the version I have is 4.2.58.4, but I've also seen 0, 3 and 5 as the last number after the decimal.
     
  10. agoretsky

    agoretsky Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2006
    Posts:
    4,032
    Location:
    California
    Hello,

    The updates in the trivial portion of the version number (e.g., major.minor.build number.trivial) indicate changes to localization, trial versions versus licensed versions, small changes to text or online help and other changes which don't affect the functionality/behavior of the program.

    Regards,

    Aryeh Goretsky
     
  11. xxJackxx

    xxJackxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Posts:
    4,052
    Location:
    USA
    Why not have builds with the language in the filename like .en or .de or .fr instead of incrementing the build number? This always causes a thread like this where someone wants to know the difference, and then they probably waste bandwidth and time reinstalling something that doesn't accomplish anything for them. When most people see a higher build number they assume the version they have is out of date. Just a suggestion.
     
  12. agoretsky

    agoretsky Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2006
    Posts:
    4,032
    Location:
    California
    Hello,

    There are more reasons than just a localization change that can account for a trivial version number increment, though.

    Regards,

    Aryeh Goretsky
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.