Special on Acronis TI Home

Discussion in 'backup, imaging & disk mgmt' started by Ocky, Nov 29, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Ocky

    Ocky Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2006
    Posts:
    2,677
    Location:
    George, S.Africa
  2. Page42

    Page42 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Posts:
    5,829
    Location:
    Last Breath Farm
    This will be a tough decision for me. :( Been running version 9 for two years without a single problem, and I peruse the TI forums and see lots of complaints about the newer versions. Yet the question remains, are the upgrades since version 9 that good? :doubt: And what is Acronis' refund policy? I'm checking that out on their site next. One thing for sure, if I do get the new version, I will not get rid of my existing one. I'll keep it safely on hand in case I want to revert!

    Edit In: Per Acronis Live Chat... "If purchased at the Acronis Inc web-site our software can be refunded within the 30 days time frame. Regnow is the affiliate of the Acronis official web store; the same refund policy applies there."

    Thanks for the heads up, Ocky. :thumb:
     
    Last edited: Nov 29, 2008
  3. Ocky

    Ocky Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2006
    Posts:
    2,677
    Location:
    George, S.Africa
    I am also in a bit of a quandary. Have been using TI 9 with my Windows XP/
    Ubuntu Hardy dual boot setup without any problems at all. Now I see that
    the latest Ubuntu release (Intrepid - 8.10) formats ext3 partitions with
    256 I-Nodes as opposed to 128 I-Nodes for earlier versions. o_O
    This change means that Acronis TI can only do sector by sector
    image backups i.e. 100 Gig.= 100Gig. So besides needing to find the extra
    space to store the images, backups would also take incredibly long to
    complete.
    Maybe I will, when ready to upgrade Ubuntu, try Image for Linux by
    Terabyte Unlimited. :doubt:
     
  4. Shankle

    Shankle Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2006
    Posts:
    510
    I also run Acronis TI.
    My Philosophy is, if it works DON'T change it.
    Wait till you get a new Puter and have to upgrade.
    Acronis doesn't need your money that bad.
    I have TI 9 on an XP Puter and it works just fine for full
    backup and restores. I NEVER use any of the TI fancy
    stuff because I find it unreliable.
     
  5. Jo Ann

    Jo Ann Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2007
    Posts:
    508
    Ocky,

    I couldn't follow your argument, but I'm positive that your statement (which I quoted) is incorrect. While sector-by-sector backup is necessitated for special situations, it is not the typical mode of operation for the large majority of users.

    JA
     
  6. Aaron Here

    Aaron Here Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2006
    Posts:
    1,205
    Location:
    USA
    Ocky, I also noticed this announcement on Major Geeks and posted it in Wilders' ATI forum.

    But as Jo Ann observed above, your conclusion about ATI only providing a sector-by-sector backup is absurd. :doubt:
     
  7. Ocky

    Ocky Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2006
    Posts:
    2,677
    Location:
    George, S.Africa
    If using Ubuntu Intrepid 8.10 what I said appears correct, unless you specially
    format the ext.3 partitions as mentioned by k0lo in the acronis forum.
    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=225275&highlight=ubuntu

    See also this thread from Ubuntu forums..
    http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=899190

    Are you saying that all this is incorrect ? - if so it would be good news indeed.
    Please note that I was not referring to TI on Windows platform !
     
  8. Aaron Here

    Aaron Here Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2006
    Posts:
    1,205
    Location:
    USA
    Ocky, I'm not a Linux user other than when I use ATI's Recovery environment, so I'm referrring to the use of ATI in Windows and in their Linux-based Recovery enviroment.

    Using ATI as mentioned, its backup capability is certainly not limited to sector-by-sector mode (sorry if I misunderstood your post).

    Aaron
     
  9. Ocky

    Ocky Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2006
    Posts:
    2,677
    Location:
    George, S.Africa
    Of course not, I never said it was. Seems I was a victim of shoot first - check facts later. :argh:
    The only way to use Acronis with the latest Linux Ubuntu (8.10) to make backup images of the ext3 partitions is sector by sector (due
    to the Ubuntu 8.10 installer formatting ext3 partitions with 256 I-Nodes - which was not the case in the past).
    To avoid this, as kOlo mentions in the thread I referenced, one needs to not let the Ubuntu installer format the patitions and instead format them with
    a tool like GParted. Then Acronis will be happy. :D

    I trust Jo Ann will be satisfied with this explanation. She was also a tad
    fast on the draw.:D
     
  10. farmerlee

    farmerlee Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2006
    Posts:
    2,585
    Thanks for the heads up, i needed an imaging app for my new laptop and this will do nicely!
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.