Span network drives?

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by Yossi, Jan 28, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Yossi

    Yossi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2007
    Posts:
    3
    I have an USB storage server attached to my network. It's a TrendNet TS-U100. Basically, it attaches to the network and you get to plug into it up to two USB devices. I have these 250 Gig HDs attached to it. Now, when I do my backups, I first have to du a full backup and then I get to do all the differentials that I want. I have the backups scheduled to happen at 9:00PM every day. I'd like to be able to tell TI that when one of the drives is full it should continue on the second one. Is that possible?

    On the drives, I had to create two parttions. One that is about 190 Gig and the other about 40 Gig. I did a full backup to the 40 Gig partition and then differential backups until the partition was full (eventually I got an error msg from TI stating that the HD is full). I then changed the scheduled task to do to the differential backups to the 190 Gig partition. Guess what happened when I run that task? It backued up to the 40 Gig partition. Just to make sure, I found the XML scripts that TI created and examined them to make sure that the target parttion is the 190 Gig. Everything was OK in there. So why did it back up to the 40 Gig partition?
     
  2. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello Yossi,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Disk Backup Software.

    We are sorry for the delayed response.

    Please note that differential backups are always created in the same folder (same media) as the full backup they are related to (the backup can span over several CDs/DVDs).

    Please collect the backup creation log and scheduled task script to let us study the issue you encountered thoroughly. The scheduled task script is located under C:\Documents and Settings\All Users\Application Data\Acronis\TrueImage\Scripts folder. In order to save the log file do the following:

    - run the program;

    - select Show log on the toolbar or from the Tools menu;

    - select the log with error messages;

    - click "Save the log entry to file" (the diskette icon).

    Then submit a request for technical support. Attach all the collected files and information to your request along with the step-by-step description of the actions taken before the problem appears and the link to this thread. We will investigate the issue and try to provide you with a solution.

    Thank you.
    --
    Marat Setdikov
     
    Last edited: Feb 5, 2007
  3. Yossi

    Yossi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2007
    Posts:
    3
    So I guess the answer is that it created the differential backup on the smae media/folder as the full backup. It's good taht it can span over several CDs or DVDs. How can I make it span several partitions?
     
  4. Yossi

    Yossi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2007
    Posts:
    3
    Will TrueImage Workstation 9.1 solve my problem?
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.